We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travellers have booked this property

Self Catering Suite - near Stratford, Ont Canada

Save
Very good
3 reviews
Your hosts, Gerry & Patty Kehl
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom , Sleeps 4
Mitchell, Ontario
The Heron's Nest is located in Mitchell, Ontario.
Only 15 minutes to the Stratford Shakespeare Festival - Festival Theatre in Stratford, Ontario.

A beautifully furnished, self catering suite situated on the banks of the Thames River.
The Space
Enjoy our beautifully furnished, air conditioned, self-catering suite situated on the banks of the Thames River in Mitchell, Ontario. The suite is open concept and features your own private entrance with queen bed as well as a sofa hide-a-bed and three-piece bath. Bed and bath linens are included. The kitchenette is complete with bar fridge/freezer, microwave, toaster oven, Tassimo coffee maker along with dishes, cutlery and utensils. The 37” wide-screen HD cable TV & DVD player are accompanied with secure, free WiFi.

Guest Access
In season you can enjoy our in-ground heated swimming pool...
Read more
About the Owner, Gerry K
Languages spoken: English
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 8 days ago
Listed since : Feb 2014
Overall rating: 4.0 / 5.0
Based on 3 reviews and 1 property
Contact Owner See more properties
Listing #FKN1968765
Reviews from our community
Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TheatreGa...
Vineland, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Gerry and Patty were so welcoming. I even got an early check-in which I thought was generous. Our suite was secluded and overlooking a stretch of the river and trees and kingfishers. Just the sort of place to chill out between seeing plays in Stratford. The pool was terrific crystal clear and 83 degrees on a hot sunny day--pool noodles,...

More
debramari...
Grand Bend, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Cute, basement rental. Bring your own cutting board and garbage bags. I have no complaints of the unit itself except I don't think the kitchen was cleaned well as there was grime around the taps and the BBQ was very dirty inside and out to the touch. Also, it is noisy with above we were awoken by walking and shoes...

More
Management response:

This is our first negative review on numerous booking websites in over three years and we are sorry our guests didn’t appreciate our efforts. There are two glass-cutting boards on the counter – for sanitary purposes we do not provide a wooden cutting board. Additional garbage bags are under the lid of the garbage container under the sink (there is...

More

Report response as inappropriate
Vickie K
Wamego, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had not intended to spend this wintery night in Mitchell but the highway was closed in the direction we were headed. Guys at the local Subway handed us the Heron's Nest card (there are no motels in town). Fortunately the owners answered the phone at 10:30 pm, got busy shoveling snow and we had a warm place to stay....

More
Management response:

Thank you for your review. We hope the rest of your excursion went without further complications.

More

Report response as inappropriate
Amenities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Blender
  • Boat Available
  • Cable/satellite TV
  • Central Heating
  • DVD Player
  • Freezer
  • Full Baths (1)
  • Grill
  • Internet Access
  • Iron
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Guides/Maps
  • Microwave
  • Paper Towels Provided
  • Parking
  • Refrigerator
  • Shared Outdoor Pool (Heated)
  • Soap/Shampoo Provided
  • Suitable For Children Under 5
  • Telephone
  • Toaster
  • Towels Provided
  • TV
  • Water Views
House rules
    Kid-friendly
    Pets not allowed
    Smoking not allowed
Children must be 2 years of age or older.

Check-in is between 2:00pm and 4:00 pm - Arrange for later check-in.
Bathrooms
    1 Full bath
Availability
Show Rates
Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Showing rates for up to guests.
Dates Min stay Weeknight Weekend night Per week Per month
Default 2 nights
R 1 053
CA$115
R 1 053
CA$115
R 6 866
CA$750
R 15 104
CA$1 650
Please note: rates may have been converted from the original local currency to South African Rand and are approximate rates that may change due to exchange rate fluctuation. Please contact the manager to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.
Hide Rates
Map
About the neighbourhood
The Heron’s Nest is located on a quiet cul-de-sac overlooking the north branch of the Thames River. The West Perth Thames Nature Trail is just steps outside your doorway. You will probably hear a donkey braying and peacocks calling from the animal zoo located across the river. You are in a true country setting in the middle of an urban area away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The heated in-ground swimming pool is a huge draw for those wanting a little fun and relaxation in a garden setting. All in all you can’t help feeling relaxed and blowing away your tensions while staying at the Heron’s Nest. Oh, and there is driveway parking for you.
Access
Car advised
Activities nearby
There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive.
Nearby cities
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.
How can I contact the owner?
Initially, you may contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.
How will the owner contact me?
This owner will contact you via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox.
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
You can send another message via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.
How do I pay?
For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.
Is my payment insured in any way?
Yes. Payments made via the TripAdvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#FKN1968765
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
R 1 053
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
20 travellers
viewed this property in the past week
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.