We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bear Valley River cabin on the Shenandoah River

Save
The side of the cabin that faces the river
1 of 17The side of the cabin that faces the river
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom , Sleeps 6
Luray, Virginia
Our cabin at Bear River Valley has everything you want to augment your relaxation in the peaceful harmony of the Shenandoah River.

Sit around the campfire with your feet in the river, listening to the calls of 100 different birds. Free canoes sit nearby for your immediate use. Make sure to grab the oars and life jackets from the shed before heading out!

A full acre of open yard, from the house to the river, gives you plenty of space to setup your soccer game or volleyball net.

A brand new, 7-foot hot tub was recently installed with over 45 jets. This hot tub, from one of the top manufacturers in the business, is great for evening relaxation or morning soak. And while you soak, look out across the river and mountains.

On the top level of the deck, a large commercial-grade gas grill is waiting for your hot dogs, hamburgers and steaks. W...
Read more
Listing #FKN2315718
About the Owner
Paul & Emily a
Languages spoken:English
Response Rate:100%
Response Time:Within a few hours
Listed Since:August 2010
Reviews from our community
Write a ReviewReviews (123)

1 - 3 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The cabin itself is nice, although the inside area is actually quite small. Our group of 6 was definitely a bit cramped. It has everything one would like on the inside, although the TVs are on the smaller side and the WiFi was slow. The...More

Thank LeonS1626
NorthStar519160, VR Owner at Bear Valley River cabin on the Shenandoah River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your feedback. I'm not sure what you're referring to that is exaggerated- we work very hard to represent our properties exactly the way that they are.

Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

I love it and was nice day there but trash can was big issue for us. Also rowels need to be replaced.

1  Thank adfs2018
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018

The property was beautiful. The cabin was a little smaller than I thought it would be from the photos, but we are outdoors people so we were happy. Unfortunately, the river was above flood stage during our stay, so we could not use the canoes....More

Thank sdwilliam09
Management response:Responded 10 July 2018

We had a maintenance person working on the toilet within minutes of being called - both times. I'm not sure why the guest is saying no one cared. As she pointed out, we came right out both times. The second time, we offered to pull...More

Amenities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Balcony or Terrace
  • Blender
  • Books
  • Cable/satellite TV
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Central Heating
  • Cooker
  • Deck
  • Dining Seats (20)
  • Dishwasher
  • Dryer
  • DVD Player
  • Fireplace
  • Freezer
  • Full Baths (1)
  • Grill
  • Hot Tub
  • Housekeeping Included
  • Internet Access
  • Iron
  • Kettle
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room Seats (20)
  • Local Guides/Maps
  • Microwave
  • Mountain Views
  • Outdoor Dining Area
  • Paper Towels Provided
  • Parking
  • Patio
  • Porch
  • Private Garden
  • Refrigerator
  • Stereo System
  • Suitable For Children Under 5
  • Telephone
  • Toaster
  • Towels Provided
  • TV
  • VCR
  • Washer
  • Waterfront
  • Water Views
  • Wi-Fi
House rules
    Kid-friendly
    Ask about pets
    Smoking not allowed
Pet fee of $50 per pet

2 night minimum stay, 3 night minimum during holidays

$75 cleaning fee for one night stays only
Bathrooms
    1 Full bath
Availability
Show Rates
Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Please contact the manager for complete rate information.
Fees
  • Damage Deposit: R 4 306 / stay - Deposit
  • Unlimited/stacked firewood per night: R 144 / stay - Fee
Additional Rate and Availability Information
Payment Options: American Express, Discover, Mastercard, Visa
Check In: 3 p.m.
Check Out: 11 a.m.
Required Stay: 2 night minimum (3 night holidays, $30 holiday surcharge)
Deposits: 50% Payment Due when Booking Reservations; Balance Due 14 Days Prior to Arrival. Signed Rental/Waiver Agreement Required. Families & Responsible Adults.
Pet Fee: $50 per pet per stay
Note: Weekly rate includes 6 nights.
Hide Rates
Map
About the neighbourhood
Nearby activities range from Luray Caverns, canoeing, tubing, kayaking, swimming and fishing in the South Fork of the Shenandoah River, Massanutten Water Park, to hiking and horseback riding in Shenandoah National Park, Skyline Drive and the George Washington National Forest, to visiting local antique stores and flea markets, to touring civil war battle fields, awesome caverns and nearby vineyards. Then too, there is time for just propping up your feet and watching and listening to the calls of over 100 varieties of local birds. There is also guided fishing and hunting around Luray, VA.
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
How can I contact the owner?
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
How do I pay?
Is my payment insured in any way?
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#FKN2315718
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply