We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travellers have booked this property

Lochead Chalet on Ellary Estate

Save
Verandah View
Very good
9 reviews
Verandah View
Living room window view
Chalets located just out the left of the photo
Living room
The Chalets at low tide
Lochead Chalet No 1
Private picnic bench
Chalet Kitchen
Chalet Bedroom
Chalet Bedroom
Loch Caolisport
view from Chalet
view from Chalet
Loch Caolisport
view
view
view from Chalet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms , 1 Bathroom , Sleeps 4
Lochgilphead, Argyll and Bute, Scotland
Our Lochead Chalets are situated at the head of Loch Caolisport, giving fantastic views out over the Loch. We have 3 in total (all can be booked separately or together), and each has 2 bedrooms (1 double, 1 bunk room - full sized single bunks), a living room with kitchenette off, and a shower room. There are large picture windows in the living rooms to make the most of the views from, and there are generous verandahs in front of each, to enjoy the summer sun.

Argyll is located on the West Coast of Scotland, presenting what is often considered Scotland's most beautiful scenery.
It is home to lots of small villages, and perfect for those who love the great outdoors. It is increasingly popular with photographers, with the sunsets regularly being spectacular.
Ellary Estate lies between the shores of Loch Caolisport and Loch Sween....
Read more
About the Owner, Caitlin H
Languages spoken: English
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 4 days ago
Listed since : Jun 2010
Overall rating: 4.5 / 5.0
Based on 25 reviews and 13 properties
Interaction with guests
There is somebody in the office (or available by phone) 24/7 in case of an emergency, and 9-5 for everything else. The payphone in the property will phone the office for free.
Contact Owner See more properties
Listing #HL131881
Reviews from our community
Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
carnegie6...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The drive along the single track road gave a hint that we would be staying in very special place & we were not disappointed. On arrival at the chalet we where greeted by the resident roe deer buck. The chalet although basic, provided everything that we required for our weeks stay & the views of the loch and mountains from...

More
Sarah H
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Lodge we stayed at was right on the shore of Loch Caolisport, perfect for casting a line in the hope of a catch any time of day. The first night we stayed the sky was perfectly clear, with a lovely view of the Milky Way arching across the whole sky. Other nights we stayed the weather was changeable, and...

More
Management response:

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

More

Report response as inappropriate
DavidJane...
Nympsfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

...without sounding as if we had a terrible time! Positives: fantastic location, loved the private drive across the estate, really enjoyed sitting on the decking watching the tide roll in and out of the loch, a very relaxing break. Negatives: not terribly clean, old damp smelling quilts, blankets and pillows, incredibly uncomfortable mattress. Very overpriced for smelly, dirty and outdated...

More
Management response:

Sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay at Ellary. We do find that in certain weather conditions at this time of year, the chalets are bad for condensation, and as such advise people to leave vents etc open. All duvets etc have also been recently replaced also for this reason - however if there was a...

More

Report response as inappropriate
Amenities
  • Balcony or Terrace
  • Bunk Beds:(1)
  • Cooker
  • Deck
  • Dining Seats (4)
  • Double Beds:(1)
  • DVD Player
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Highchair
  • Internet Access
  • Iron
  • Kettle
  • Living Room Seats (4)
  • Microwave
  • Ocean Views
  • Parking
  • Refrigerator
  • Shared Garden
  • Shower Rooms (1)
  • Suitable For Children Under 5
  • Telephone
  • Toaster
  • TV
  • Waterfront
  • Water Views
  • Wi-Fi
House rules
    Kid-friendly
    Pets allowed
    Smoking not allowed
    Check in: 3:00 PM
    Check out: 10:00 AM
Bathrooms
    1 Shower
Bedrooms
    1 Bunk
    1 Full
Availability
Show Rates
Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Dates Min stay Per night Per week
Default 3 nights
R 1 183
£71
R 5 914
£355
19 May 2018 -
6 Jul 2018
Default
3 nights
R 1 316
£79
R 6 580
£395
7 Jul 2018 -
31 Aug 2018
Peak Season
5 nights
R 1 649
£99
R 8 246
£495
1 Sep 2018 -
14 Sep 2018
Peak Season
3 nights
R 1 316
£79
R 6 580
£395
View all periods
Please note: rates may have been converted from the original local currency to South African Rand and are approximate rates that may change due to exchange rate fluctuation. Please contact the manager to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.
Additional Rate and Availability Information
Prices are per week and include VAT at 20%. Electricity is metered and linen is not provided.
Hide Rates
Map
About the neighbourhood
The distance from Glasgow to Ellary is about 100 miles and it will take around two and a half hours. Although the journey can be accomplished faster than this, it is a beautiful drive and well worth the time. Take the M8 through Glasgow and cross the Clyde on the Erskine Bridge. This takes you straight on to the A82 wich at that point is a fast dual carriageway which takes you past the suburbs of Glasgow.
Immediately when you leave the dual carriageway you are suddenly in the Highlands. What were the promise of some mountains in the distance, are suddenly all around you. Look across the water at the steep steep sides of Ben Lomond, and soak up the views of Ben Lui, Ben Vorlich and many others. You are in the heart of 'Ben' country.
Getting around
There is no public transport here, so a car is necessary. We are not far from Tarbert (about 30 minutes), and the ferries to the islands. Similarly, Inverary is about 50 minutes away, and Oban just over an hour.
Access
Car recommended
How to get there
Airport: Glagsow: 160.0 km
Railway: Glasgow: 160.0 km
Ferry: Tarbert: 32.0 km
Leave Lochgilphead on the A83 in the direction of Campbeltown, turn right two miles after Ardrishaig onto the B8024 signposted Kilberry, turn right, about five miles later onto the unclassified road signposted to Ellary. The Lochead Chalets are at the head of Loch Caolisport, about 2 miles down this road.
Activities nearby
Fishing Nearby, There Is A Golf Course Within 30 Mins Drive, Golf Course Is On Site Or Within 15 Mins Walk, Nearest Beach: 0.0 km.
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.
How can I contact the owner?
Initially, you may contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.
How will the owner contact me?
This owner will contact you via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox.
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
You can send another message via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.
How do I pay?
For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.
Is my payment insured in any way?
Yes. Payments made via the TripAdvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
#HL131881
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
R 1 183
/
Night
Week
Book Now
36 travellers
viewed this property in the past week
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.