We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travellers have booked this property

Birdwatchers Rainforest Cottage

welcome to Birdwatchers
Very good
10 reviews
welcome to Birdwatchers
Rainwater Pool in the tree tops
swimming pool with solar water heating
Spacious Sitting Room
Eat inside or out?
Futons for extra guests
curved breakfast bar with three stools
well equipped kitchen
Master Bedroom
Queensize bed
ensuite Shower room
Bedroom two
Bedroom three
Lots of outside seating
Bedroom two and three share a shower room
Gather around enjoy the wildlife
Outside dining easy
lovely hand made furnitue
Waitikubuli Trail just by the doorstep
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms , Sleeps 8
Morne Trois Pitons National Park, Saint Patrick Parish, Dominica
Well equipped, wooden cabin in the treetops of the Rainforest. On the edge of the World Heritage Site Morn Trois Pitons in the Volcanic island of Dominica .With parrots and hummingbirds as visitors and a rainwater plunge pool 20 feet above ground, this accommodation is ideally placed on the Waitikubuli Hiking Trail. There is WiFi to stay in touch and groceries can be delivered or bought from the corner shop and the vegetable stall by the road. Two hundred yards from the main road in a developing area yet with a remote and isolated feel as you look out on virgin rainforest.

PIneapple Crossing is next door if your group is more than six.

A rental 4X4 Jeep can take you to many usual attractions within an hours drive , hot springs, rushing rivers and waterfalls, Organic Farm tours, Birdwatching for the Parrots only found in Dominica, Diving...
Read more
About the Owner, Tina A
Languages spoken: English
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Listed since : Oct 2013
Overall rating: 4.3 / 5.0
Based on 25 reviews and 4 properties
Contact Owner See more properties
Listing #FKN2586390
Reviews from our community
Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Cockroach infestation and no running water = to bad for you No compensation other than an apology over the internet was offered or given. We got to Birdwatchers Cabin with a welcome by the owners explaining no running water due to a broken pipe. They offered us another but worse cabin near it. However, after touring that place, the very...

Management response:

We were horrified to hear that the insect life of the rainforest were "infesting our house" however thankfully none have appeared since these clients left. The tank is now filled and the house in action with our next visitors who love it. Repairs in the rainforest do take longer than in more developed places. We offered these guests our other...


Report response as inappropriate
Steve A
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We absolutely loved staying in Birdwatchers. It was so tranquil and green - and plenty of beautiful birds, although we weren't around in the afternoons to see the parrots. Enjoyed watching the hummingbirds dart around though. Had all we needed and easy to grab basic supplies (e.g. milk, eggs, beer) from the shop about 500m away. Also couldn't believe how...

Management response:

YOu are right a 4X4 is the best option althoguh we strongly suggest people get a taxi from the airport or ferry and then have the car rental firm bring a vehicle the next day. They will also pick you up and take you to the airport if asked.


Report response as inappropriate
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My husband and I stayed here for a week (Jan. 17-24/15), with two of my girlfriends joining us for five days. The cottage was perfectly set up for our group. Large rooms, open concept living area, atmospheric deck & pool area, where we spent most of our time. Not your typical Dominican pastel coloured concrete built home which you see...

Management response:

We did enjoy having you and seeing you fall in love with our forest home. Thankfully the building next door is done now and the shabby shed gone.We have improved the parking and now have a dedicated water heater for the pool.Next door at Pineapple Crossing there is a hot tub so spa treatment can be negotiated. One of our...


Report response as inappropriate
  • Balcony or Terrace
  • Blender
  • Cooker
  • Deck
  • Freezer
  • Full Baths (2)
  • Internet Access
  • Kettle
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Guides/Maps
  • Microwave
  • Mountain Views
  • Outdoor Dining Area
  • Parking
  • Porch
  • Private Outdoor Pool (Unheated)
  • Refrigerator
  • Shared Garden
  • Soap/Shampoo Provided
  • Suitable For Children Under 5
  • Toaster
  • Towels Provided
  • Wheelchair Accessible
House rules
    Pets allowed
    Smoking not allowed
    2 Full baths
Show Rates

Rates are calculated based on the latest information provided. Please contact the manager/owner to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.

Select the number of guests
Dates Min stay Weeknight Weekend night Per week Per month
Default 1 night
R 903
R 903
R 6 018
R 24 070
US$2 000
Please note: rates may have been converted from the original local currency to South African Rand and are approximate rates that may change due to exchange rate fluctuation. Please contact the manager to confirm actual rates for your requested dates.
  • cleaning fee: R 481 / stay - Fee
Hide Rates
Map displays general property location.
Contact the manager for exact address.
Make Enquiry
About the neighbourhood
Sylvania is a developing area on the edge of the Morne Trois Pitons World Heritage Site. . The property is up a steep track and parking is shared with the neighbouring Pineapple Crossing and some neighbours building behind us. The entrance to the Waitikubil trail is just by us so hikers do occasionally park or even wander in looking for the trail. The forest constantly encroaches and heleconia grow wild and surprise you with their huge flowers.

It is rainforest, so there is rain and a plethora of insect and birdlife. we have nets on the windows so you can sleep with the shutters open , but walking in the bush requires insect repellent.,

There are shops , a couple of bars and vegetable stalls as well as a small take away restaurant (best to order well in advance or take pot luck)
Car advised
How to get there
Airport: Melville Hall: 32.0 km
Ferry: Roseau: 16.0 km
Activities nearby
Nearest Beach: 16.0 km.
About this property
How do I know if the property is available?
First, check the Availability tab on this page to see if your dates are available. If they are, contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to confirm availability.
How can I contact the owner?
Initially, you may contact the owner via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. This inbox is created after you send your first message or booking request to the owner. After you've made your first payment, you'll be able to see the owner's contact information.
How will the owner contact me?
This owner will contact you via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox.
What if I don't hear back from the owner?
You can send another message via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox to ask if the property is still available.
How do I pay?
For this property, please use a credit card to pay via the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox. Once the owner approves your stay, he or she will send you a quote, which will include payment instructions.
Is my payment insured in any way?
Yes. Payments made via the TripAdvisor inbox are covered by our Peace of Mind Protection.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
R 903
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.