We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Annemarie S

Mrs

Review of Elgro Hotel
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 04 Oct 2018via mobile
The lady at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. The disaster strikes when you reach the room. The matrass and pillows needs to be replaced. The linen is clean which is a bonus. The biggest disaster is the bathroom. The basin waste outlet is so dirty you want to vomit when you brush your teeth. Trying to shower is a joke. First off all you cannot perdict which is the hot or cold water tap. Eventually luke warm spray if one can call it spray everywhere except where it is suppose too. The water pressure is pathetic. I will not recommend this hotel even if they offer you a free room.
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 100
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 100
1.9 km from Elgro Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 005
R 885
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Elgro Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 150
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 150
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 150
0.8 km from Elgro Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 1 724
R 1 521
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.8 km from Elgro Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 317
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 317
7.3 km from Elgro Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Breakfast Area
R 1 000
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 000
2.3 km from Elgro Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel entrance
R 826
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    R 826
5941.2 km from Elgro Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 200
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Elgro Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
2.1 km from Elgro Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
2.7 km from Elgro Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Potchefstroom
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
0
0
2
3
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
0
0
2
3
9
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

The front staff was great in booking in.but when I wanted go for supper in dinning room I was told that I should have booked before 14h00.I was send to the bar had choice bar menu.The place was a smoking zone.I tried the food.It was great.The only problem was bar ladies was very loud .I went up to my room424.There was a very loud noise coming from a geyser or tank.the whole night.The toilet was not working.I could not reported because I only find it out after midnight .Breakfast was good.I will not recommended staying there for R950.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank ernestb840
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

Its a big old hotel which i suppose was one the Jewel of Potchefstroom. The rooms is comfortable enough but the whole hotel in my opinion is due for an upgrade and some modernisation. The air-conditioning must be as old the hotel itself with water leaking onto the carpets, which was not fixed when reported. There a subtle smell of mildrew throughout. With some investment in modernization this could be the Jewel of Potchefstroom once again. But for now i would not stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank mornen891
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2016

There is a large lounge where they serve tea and coffee for the conference rooms but they allow people to smoke in here. If you are a non smoker you cannot use this room comfortably as the smell of smoke hits you as you walk in. They did tell me this is a designated smoking area but it does not conform to the South African legislation about smoking areas. As the management all seem to smoke I don't think they care about the law! They also leave the doors open to the adjoining restaurant! The room was clean but very basic, no hairdryer and I had to crawl on the floor to reach a plug to plug in the kettle! Very old noisy air conditioner.

Room tip: In the middle of town. Very industrial area
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TessTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2016

I have a different experience than some of these other folks. Maybe my expectations
were lower but I found the place to be clean, the food good and the staff extremely friendly. Yes the rooms are old but I didn't have a hot water problem. I also was there for this World Powerlifting Competition and it was strange warming up in an area outside under tents but that's really not the hotels fault. I also find my room to be reasonably priced and so was the restaurant.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OldLawHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2015

One good thing was that the rooms and bathrooms were clean however, the decor was extremely outdated. No safe in the room, if there was a safe there was no key available to use and we were told this was because they got stolen (!!!). The intermittent hot water and lack of water pressure was a common occurrence. The reason given by hotel staff was that this was because everyone was probably showering at the same time - its a hotel, wouldn't you expect people to want to shower in the morning??? When the hot water did eventually work it came out all brown.

No hairdryers in the rooms and I was told that there were in every room. If you wanted one you had to borrow it from reception, they only have 3 available.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O2702EGSarahL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews