We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Morne Naude
Pretoria, South Africa

An old hotel.

Review of Elgro Hotel
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Feb 2016via mobile
Its a big old hotel which i suppose was one the Jewel of Potchefstroom. The rooms is comfortable enough but the whole hotel in my opinion is due for an upgrade and some modernisation. The air-conditioning must be as old the hotel itself with water leaking onto the carpets, which was not fixed when reported. There a subtle smell of mildrew throughout. With some investment in modernization this could be the Jewel of Potchefstroom once again. But for now i would not stay here again.
Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 150
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 150
  • Agoda.com
    R 954
  • Priceline
    R 1 150
0.8 km from Elgro Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 1 150
R 1 092
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 100
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 100
  • Priceline
    R 1 092
1.9 km from Elgro Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 600
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 600
  • ZenHotels.com
1.8 km from Elgro Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 431
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 317
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 780
  • Priceline
    R 2 431
7.3 km from Elgro Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Welcome to Acorn Lodge & Skydeck Sunset Café
R 570
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 570
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Elgro Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Luxury room
R 650
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 650
  • Vio.com
    R 650
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Elgro Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bedrooms 1 to 11
R 644
  • Agoda.com
    R 644
  • Priceline
5.2 km from Elgro Hotel
Free parking
R 600
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 600
  • Agoda.com
    R 600
17.4 km from Elgro Hotel
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Kleinplaas Guest Farm
R 700
    3.3 km from Elgro Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Hotel entrance
    R 826
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
      R 826
    • ZenHotels.com
      R 826
    • Tripadvisor
      R 826
    5941.2 km from Elgro Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Potchefstroom
    Reviews (14)
    Filter reviews
    14 results
    Traveller rating
    0
    0
    2
    3
    9
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    0
    0
    2
    3
    9
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    5 - 10 of 14 reviews
    Reviewed 16 February 2016

    There is a large lounge where they serve tea and coffee for the conference rooms but they allow people to smoke in here. If you are a non smoker you cannot use this room comfortably as the smell of smoke hits you as you walk in. They did tell me this is a designated smoking area but it does not conform to the South African legislation about smoking areas. As the management all seem to smoke I don't think they care about the law! They also leave the doors open to the adjoining restaurant! The room was clean but very basic, no hairdryer and I had to crawl on the floor to reach a plug to plug in the kettle! Very old noisy air conditioner.

    Room tip: In the middle of town. Very industrial area
    Date of stay: February 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank TessTalk
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 28 January 2016

    I have a different experience than some of these other folks. Maybe my expectations
    were lower but I found the place to be clean, the food good and the staff extremely friendly. Yes the rooms are old but I didn't have a hot water problem. I also was there for this World Powerlifting Competition and it was strange warming up in an area outside under tents but that's really not the hotels fault. I also find my room to be reasonably priced and so was the restaurant.

    Date of stay: February 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank OldLawHog
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 18 August 2015

    One good thing was that the rooms and bathrooms were clean however, the decor was extremely outdated. No safe in the room, if there was a safe there was no key available to use and we were told this was because they got stolen (!!!). The intermittent hot water and lack of water pressure was a common occurrence. The reason given by hotel staff was that this was because everyone was probably showering at the same time - its a hotel, wouldn't you expect people to want to shower in the morning??? When the hot water did eventually work it came out all brown.

    No hairdryers in the rooms and I was told that there were in every room. If you wanted one you had to borrow it from reception, they only have 3 available.

    Date of stay: August 2015
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank O2702EGSarahL
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

    Shocking. Hasn't been updated or worked on in decades. No hot water at first and when it did get fixed, it had no pressure so ..... no shower!
    Dingy smokey bar!

    Original bookings were messed up so some group members were moved out - lucky them!

    Friendly staff - I think the place relies on them

    Date of stay: August 2015
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    1  Thank Coastal79160
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 29 July 2014

    I would not recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Joburg, Potchefstroom area. It is very, very dated, old, dark and depressing. The only thing this hotel had going for it was the friendly staff in the dining room. We booked accommodation months in advance for a double room, upon arriving they were overbooked and after some complaining they finally got us a room with two twin beds...very disappointing. There were bugs in the bathroom and I mean like huge beetles, couldn't walk around bare foot.

    The only reason we stayed here was to attend the world powerlifting competition. The facilities for the lifters were atrocious...a tent was set up outside as the warm up area, lifters were freezing and had to walk outside to get to the main lifting area. People in the audience could not see the lifting going on due to the number of obstacles in the way on and around the stage.

    On checking it appeared that we were over charged for our stay - the room rate was doubled if two people stayed in the same room. Overall we will never return here even if the powerlifting was held here again, there are much nicer hotels within walking distance. we moved from here for the last three days of our trip to a hotel closer to Joburg in Sandton, what a beautiful hotel, clean, excellent service, warm, amazing breakfast buffet...Town Lodge...would definately stay here again and much cheaper for the quality.

    If you're a vegetarian the choices are a cheese and tomato sandwich (if there's any left) or chips. Fish was too salty couldn't eat it.

    Date of stay: June 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    3  Thank J R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews