We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place to relax”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bolthole Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Spalding, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Michael L
Lake Ronkonkoma, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to relax”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were on a visit from Long Island, New York to attend my brother's wedding. We stayed at Bolthole Cottage for 5 nights. What a delightful experience it was. We had such a relaxing time and enjoyed every moment of our stay there. The cottage has every convenience and a lovely English garden. We enjoyed eating some of our meals in the back while enjoying the garden views. The owners are super nice. The cottage is surrounded by fields in a rural setting but is not too far from stores or a trip to the local pub. We highly recommend staying here and will book again the next time we are visiting that part of England.

Date of stay: August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenW140...
Berrien, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful, well equipped cottage with very helpful and friendly owners”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Bolthole Cottage for a week and would have gladly stayed longer! The cottage has everything that you could even think you might need; the beds were comfortable and the space was generous. Access to the lovely garden was an additional bonus, as were the chats with the kind and helpful owners. Would love to visit again.

Date of stay: February 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3Arthurb
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very comfortable relaxing cottage.”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay was extremely relaxing, in an interesting part of Britain. Trevor and Andrew were very helpful when required which was not very often as the cottage had everything laid out well. The welcome from them was great and the milk, eggs and loaf were much apreciated, Thank you.
We would certainly recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet escape.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopDownTr...
Hexham
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented cottage and garden, perfect for exploring the fens”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a very relaxing and peaceful time at Bolthole cottage. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the cottage was in beautiful condition, well equipped and thoughtfully furnished. The garden was stunning, and we enjoyed sitting outside on the terrace and watching all the wildlife. It was a perfect location for walking in the fens.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility and garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
196Ale
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Missing it already”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This place was a joy. The hosts ensured a smooth arrival and check in procedure and great directions. The property is exactly as described and photographed. My wife and I stayed for a week in April 2014 and loved everything about the location and property. It feels secluded and detached with lovely gardens overlooking open fields and yet close to everything you need. Springfields 'Outlet" shopping minutes away as well as Spalding town centre. If you need a 'Bolthole' this is the one for you. ENJOY!

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home
Liked least: No, I can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.