We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local gem”

The Flying Pig eXpress
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Darling
Price range: US$1 - US$7
Description: The Flying Pig is about 3 things - coffee, charcuterie and locally sourced deli products. Proprietors Gil and Aleks Ferreira are also the owners of The Flying Pig CureSmiths, producing artisanal cured meats, ranging from salami, parma style hams, cooked hams, fresh sausages and bacon jam. The CureSmith, or charcuterie, is also situated on the premises, and visitors can see directly into the bespoke curing chamber to view how the curing process takes place. Much of the produce in the Deli at The Flying Pig is also locally sourced - so much so that The Flying Pig has become known as the 'Darling Deli." From cheese, exotic mushrooms, pomegranate ice lollies, reductions, nougat, Turkish delight, farm style preserves, interesting toffees (like Darling Sweet toffees) and rusks to so much more! The coffee, known as The Flying Pig blend, is also close to their heart and is produced by local west coast Wings Coffee Roasters. The establishment of The Flying Pig is the marriage of all these wonderful products with Charcuterie at its heart! Come and enjoy wonderful fare in a lovely garden setting, right in the heart of wonderful Darling - and finish off your meal with arguably the best coffee in the Swartland! Gil and Aleks Ferreira look forward to receiving you!
Restaurant details
Description: The Flying Pig is about 3 things - coffee, charcuterie and locally sourced deli products. Proprietors Gil and Aleks Ferreira are also the owners of The Flying Pig CureSmiths, producing artisanal cured meats, ranging from salami, parma style hams, cooked hams, fresh sausages and bacon jam. The CureSmith, or charcuterie, is also situated on the premises, and visitors can see directly into the bespoke curing chamber to view how the curing process takes place. Much of the produce in the Deli at The Flying Pig is also locally sourced - so much so that The Flying Pig has become known as the 'Darling Deli." From cheese, exotic mushrooms, pomegranate ice lollies, reductions, nougat, Turkish delight, farm style preserves, interesting toffees (like Darling Sweet toffees) and rusks to so much more! The coffee, known as The Flying Pig blend, is also close to their heart and is produced by local west coast Wings Coffee Roasters. The establishment of The Flying Pig is the marriage of all these wonderful products with Charcuterie at its heart! Come and enjoy wonderful fare in a lovely garden setting, right in the heart of wonderful Darling - and finish off your meal with arguably the best coffee in the Swartland! Gil and Aleks Ferreira look forward to receiving you!
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

This farm style deli in Darling is well worth a stop at. We shared a beautiful fresh lunch, finished off with excellent cappuccinos and then enjoyed looking through the deli itself. The local bacon jam is a must, and the personal touch the owners add made the experience all the better! We'll be back for sure!

Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gil F, Owner at The Flying Pig eXpress, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear Laura E,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our little spot. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again, soon :)

Warm regards,
Gil, Aleks & the FP Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Bohemian coffee shop where the owner was slightly pre-occupied, the service good, the toasted breakfast bagel extreme! coffee excellent and the garden setting like a tiny oasis.

Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gil F, Owner at The Flying Pig eXpress, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear Dave B,

Thank you kindly for the review and also that you chose our little spot! Apologies that I was preoccupied - I do try to get to everyone!

We are, however, very happy that you enjoyed yourself at The FP and hope that you will visit us again.

Kind regards,
Gil, Aleks & the FP Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Relaxed atmosphere. The bacon was cooked perfectly and was very tasty. Portions are enough and well presented. Worth a visit.

Thank Airvertise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gil F, Owner at The Flying Pig eXpress, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear Airvertise,

Our motto is "If you don't like bacon then you are wrong" - so we are very happy to have lived up to expectations!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our establishment. We hope to see you back for more bacon!

Warm regards,
Gil, Aleks and the FP Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

It's a Monday. Most restaurants in South Africa have had a hectic weekend and close Mondays. So today when we were in Darling (west coast) finding an open place to eat was a challenge. The Flying Pig sounded like a fun place to go. Quick call to make sure it was open and then into the gps with the address.
It's a bit hidden, but once you get there, there's aroma of bacon to delight your senses. We had pulled-pork roll, bacon burger and BLT. Portions are ample and you don't really have to eat for 24 hours after!
5 stars and recommend as a special place to call in

Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gil F, Owner at The Flying Pig eXpress, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Dear Julian H,

WOW - thank you for the generous review! We really appreciate you taking the time to do so!

We are also ecstatic that you enjoyed our food and your time with us.

We would love to see you back again!

Warm regards,
Gil, Aleks & the FP team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Read good reviews about this place on TA so gave it a go whilst driving around.

The food was really good, and despite the name they do have veggie options (not that we tried any).
Between the 3 of us we had:
BLT
Pulled pork
Beef burger with bacon jam and cheese

All of these meals were really good. The pulled pork was "a little dry but very tasty", the BLT (on sourdough) was "super tasty" with "lovely crispy bacon" and I had the burger which was really good. Very juicy but it all held together well and was really flavourful.

Staff; ok. The lady we were served by seemed a little confused by two of us asking for extra bacon ... but aside from that nice. And the gentleman (I think the owner) was very friendly.

Overall pretty happy, nice little place with good food that didn't take long.

Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gil F, Owner at The Flying Pig eXpress, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Dear Rob N

Thank you so much for the thorough review. We really appreciate you taking the time to do this.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us. The Pulled Pork is a signature so I will definitely look into it being dry as it should certainly not be at all - however, thank you for pointing that out!

Mmm...I do recall, as she did come and check with me about the extra bacon, and I assure you I affirmed with her that we will do bacon with ANYTHING (ok, maybe not the carrot cake - but most other things!)

Anyway, I am happy that you enjoyed yourself with us, and we hope to see you back again!

Warm regards,
Gil, Aleks and the FP team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Flying Pig eXpress also viewed

Darling, Western Cape
Darling, Western Cape
 
Darling, Western Cape
 
Darling, Western Cape
Darling, Western Cape
 

Been to The Flying Pig eXpress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing