We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed spot with delicious food”

Chicory Cheese Cafe
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Darling
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Description: For the freshest munchies and the best coffee in town!
Restaurant details
Description: For the freshest munchies and the best coffee in town!
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Really good options on the menu as well as great vegetarian options. Food is fresh and healthy and we really enjoyed our meal. It was lovely sitting in the garden with quirky decor and pretty sunbird sitting in the branch above us. Our waitress was very friendly and welcoming as was the owner/manager.

Thank Seaborne11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anesia D, Owner at Chicory Cheese Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Hello Seaborne

Thanks so much for joining us for lunch, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our menu and our bird life!
We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and we hope you see you again when you come through Darling.

Regards
The Chicory Cheese team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2017

Occasionally you arrive in a place and you think 'a discovery'. Sitting outside in the shade, and breathe deep the freshest of air in a careless natural garden, oozing rustic charm. We are immediately greeted with a warm welcome & smiling faces which continued throughout our visit. After careful consideration we choose the Veggie Wrap and the Chicken Mango Salad which was written up on the Specials Blackboard. There is only this Special. Yum, yum, yummy, What excellent choices. We experience pleasure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Demelza_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anesia D, Owner at Chicory Cheese Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Hello Demelza

Thanks so much for visiting us and it was great to meet you guys.
Hope you have a wonderful visit in South Africa and that you enjoying your stay in Paternoster.
We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review, thanks a lot!
Hope wee see you next time you come to visit our beautiful country.

Regards
Anesia and the Chicory Cheese girls

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Excellent vegetarian choices of drink and food, lovely. Great location while exploring Darling and lovely staff

Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anesia D, Owner at Chicory Cheese Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Hello Ann

So nice to have you guys with us and thank you for taking the time to give us such a lovely review.
We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday.

The Chicory Cheese girls

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

What a refreshing place. Firstly the amazing staff, then the friendly owner. The meal recommendation was outstanding. Martin fritters, poached eggs to perfection, crispy bacon, cream. This restaurant has great healthy options. Thx too for the figs given with kindness as they had a over supply. Will def be back. This is what makes the little town do special. And to purchase a piece of art for R10 to help the local children's art group is a must. See u soon.

Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anesia D, Owner at Chicory Cheese Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Hello Cindy

You are welcome, hope you guys enjoyed those figs.
We have made sun-dried fig rolls with our over supply and are planning to wrap them around Camembert cheese for a special next week.
From our side, thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review and the donation for the Darling Trust kids art, we appreciate it.
Hope to see you soon again.

Regards
The Chicory Cheese girls

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We stopped in for lunch, they were not very busy, with one large table just finishing up and another table in the corner. We decided to make things extremely simple, and just ordered 6 toasted sandwiches, these took more than 40 minutes to arrive!! Presentation was terrible with 2 slices of cucumber and a small wedge of tomato on the plate. Sandwiches looked like they were hardly even toasted and some of them were cold, I had to send mine back to be re-toasted as it had obviously been done first and then sat waiting while the other 5 were toasted.

I fail to see how this establishment is rated the no. 2 restaurant in Darling.

    • Value
    • Food
Thank CptChick1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anesia D, Owner at Chicory Cheese Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Dear Linn
Thank you very much for your review.
We are sorry to hear that your lunch (toasted sandwiches) was not up to standard and a disappointment to you.
We do not as a rule make toasted sandwiches and don't have it on our menu as we only have a small toaster.

We have some amazing lunch options on our menu that is seasonal and for a variety of different tastes.
It is very important to us that every guest that visit us has a great meal and that it is always consistent.
Please can you email me on email at: anesia@chicorycheese.co.za so that we can make direct contact with you.

Regards
Anesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chicory Cheese Cafe also viewed

Darling, Western Cape
 
Darling, Western Cape
Darling, Western Cape
 

Been to Chicory Cheese Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing