We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Chicory Cheese Cafe
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Darling
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Deli
Description: For the freshest munchies and the best coffee in town!
Restaurant details
Description: For the freshest munchies and the best coffee in town!
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We stopped in for lunch, they were not very busy, with one large table just finishing up and another table in the corner. We decided to make things extremely simple, and just ordered 6 toasted sandwiches, these took more than 40 minutes to arrive!! Presentation was terrible with 2 slices of cucumber and a small wedge of tomato on the plate. Sandwiches looked like they were hardly even toasted and some of them were cold, I had to send mine back to be re-toasted as it had obviously been done first and then sat waiting while the other 5 were toasted.

I fail to see how this establishment is rated the no. 2 restaurant in Darling.

    • Value
    • Food
Thank CptGirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anesia D, Owner at Chicory Cheese Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Dear Linn
Thank you very much for your review.
We are sorry to hear that your lunch (toasted sandwiches) was not up to standard and a disappointment to you.
We do not as a rule make toasted sandwiches and don't have it on our menu as we only have a small toaster.

We have some amazing lunch options on our menu that is seasonal and for a variety of different tastes.
It is very important to us that every guest that visit us has a great meal and that it is always consistent.
Please can you email me on email at: anesia@chicorycheese.co.za so that we can make direct contact with you.

Regards
Anesia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2017

Delicious food and awesome service small selection on menu which is really great plus you can buy items with better quality
been here twice and both times i enjoyed my meal

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beatie-Travel247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anesia D, Owner at Chicory Cheese Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Hello Beatie

Thanks so much for visiting us again and we are so happy that you enjoyed your lunch.
We are great full for your review, thanks for taking the time to write it.
The Chicory Cheese girls

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

If you want healthy and different, go to Chicory cheese for a meal. No greasy burgers or slap chips...you will find healthy meals that taste good.The staff are very friendly,despite it being busy when we went and it took some time for our meal to be served.Food was worth waiting for..although would have loved slap or crispy chips with meal instead of salad accompaniment..

Thank Mike0072014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anesia D, Owner at Chicory Cheese Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2016

Hello Mike

Thank you for visiting us and taking time to write us a review.
Yes, we don't served slap chips, we are making more healthier food, but we also love chocolate, double cream and bacon.
We believe and a balance when it come to food.
For instance our very decadent chocolate and vanilla cheese cake has definitely not got a healthy label attached it.
Hope we see you again when you pass through Darling and thanks a again for the review.

The Chicory Cheese girls

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

We 'googled' to find a restaurant in Darling and it was listed as the 3rd best restaurant in Darling. If this is the 3rd best, I will have to go back to see what the 2 best are because this place is a gem. We enjoyed the atmosphere of the place. The food was delicious and the service very good. I had a chicken wrap, somebody else a chicken salad and a 3rd person a panini (special of the day) with 3 different cheeses. We all enjoyed our meals. It was very relaxing to have our lunch.

Thank abcdeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anesia D, Owner at Chicory Cheese Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2016

Hello there
We are delighted that you found us on Google and so glad that you stopped here to have lunch.
Thanks so much for the review, we appreciate it and we hope to see you soon again.

The Chicory Cheese girls

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Passing through Darling, we came across Chicory Cheese, a delightful, quaint restaurant with delicious farmstyle food...definitely recommended.

Thank Shaun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anesia D, Owner at Chicory Cheese Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2016

Thanks so much for coming to visit us Shaun while passing through our village.
Hope we see you soon again and thanks for the review!

The girls from
The Cheese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chicory Cheese Cafe also viewed

Darling, Western Cape
 
Darling, Western Cape
Darling, Western Cape
 
Darling, Western Cape
 

Been to Chicory Cheese Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;