We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer for the beer lover”
Review of Darling Brewery

Darling Brewery
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Darling
Description: This must-visit new Darling Brew Tasteroom & Brewery offers a fantastic day out and was developed to allow an all in one Darling Brew experience. In addition to a new state of the art brewery with increased capacity, the new premises offers an interactive and fascinating beer tasting experience in the tasting room and bar which overlooks the working microbrewery, a restaurant that serves delicious beer paired meals made from fresh, organic, seasonal and locally sourced ingredients, and beautiful gardens. There is also plenty of parking available.
Restaurant details
Description: This must-visit new Darling Brew Tasteroom & Brewery offers a fantastic day out and was developed to allow an all in one Darling Brew experience. In addition to a new state of the art brewery with increased capacity, the new premises offers an interactive and fascinating beer tasting experience in the tasting room and bar which overlooks the working microbrewery, a restaurant that serves delicious beer paired meals made from fresh, organic, seasonal and locally sourced ingredients, and beautiful gardens. There is also plenty of parking available.
Melkbosstrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beer for the beer lover”
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Here is a chance for beer lovers to taste some interesting beers and after tasting a few remembering which one was the one you liked most.
We took a friend from the UK here and had a great time. The tasting was good and we each had a burger which was delicious.
The service was not that great as it was quite busy, but we were happy to stay a little longer to quench our thirst.
We sat inside as it was a really hot day and would advise that you book a table over the weekends as its quite a popular venue.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Springbokkieno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa W, Owner at Darling Brewery, responded to this review, 8 March 2017
Thanks so much for your review. Glad to hear you and your friends enjoyed the DB experience.
Regards
Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    38
    10
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Saturday family outing”
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Hubby and son enjoyed the beer tasting, we had bottle of wine, we all sat outside was a bit windy but we really enjoyed the time there, we shared the meat and cheese platter which is really good value for money the kiddies had chips and juices, they were not a fan of the fresh apple juice though. Good afternoon drive is a must nice kiddies play area aswel

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa W, Owner at Darling Brewery, responded to this review, 3 March 2017
Thanks s much for joining and then reviewing us. Glad to hear you enjoyed the DB experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit ro sample some of their excellent beers.”
Reviewed 28 February 2017

The Tap room at this brewery was well worth a visit, with a very good selection of beers. I had thought it was a micro brewery, but it certainly wasn't that it was quite a large brewery.
The selection of beers they brew were all on offer and I really enjoyed the IPA, which we enjoyed with the cheese platter. Unfortunately I was driving so was not able to sample too many of the beers.
The serving staff at the brewery were also knowledgeable, friendly and efficient, full marks to them.
However I did take some bottles with me to sample back at our apartment.
That was the only disappointment as all four of them were rather cloudy and certainly did not taste like the draught version. I thought at first the bottles must be bottle conditioned, so after the first one I stood the bottles upright for 24 / 48 hours but no they still remained cloudy with a less than perfect taste but still drinkable.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greytop13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa W, Owner at Darling Brewery, responded to this review, 1 March 2017
Thanks so much for the review. Are you based in SA at the moment? I would love to replace your beers, it shouldn't be the case that the bottles don't match the draught quality. Please contact me on dbexperience@darlingbrew.co.za
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eMalahleni, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Darling Brewery visit”
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We visited the Brewery about 2 weeks ago for the beer tasting. Very good experience and a wide range of locally draft beers available. Eon took us on a tour of the brewery which was very interesting. A must when visiting Darling.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank _wilmanunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa W, Owner at Darling Brewery, responded to this review, 27 February 2017
Thanks so much for your review. Eon is a gem. Thanks for recommending us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beer Tasting to die for!”
Reviewed 26 February 2017

After the Harvest Lunch at Cloof, we went on to Darling Brewery for Craft Beer tasting.
There was one beer that impressed and stood out; a craft beer based on peach purée. Very nice on its own, but as a marinade and cooking stock for a pork dish?! So I will be playing with recipes and will post pictures! Sounds yummy already!!
We tried over 15 and left with a small selection. My car was quite full by this time!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa W, Owner at Darling Brewery, responded to this review, 27 February 2017
Hi Julian
Sounds like a fun weekend in Darling! Thanks so much for joining us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Darling Brewery also viewed

Darling, Western Cape
Darling, Western Cape
 
Darling, Western Cape
Darling, Western Cape
 

Been to Darling Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing