We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer Tasting to die for!”
Review of Darling Brewery

Darling Brewery
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Darling
Description: This must-visit new Darling Brew Tasteroom & Brewery offers a fantastic day out and was developed to allow an all in one Darling Brew experience. In addition to a new state of the art brewery with increased capacity, the new premises offers an interactive and fascinating beer tasting experience in the tasting room and bar which overlooks the working microbrewery, a restaurant that serves delicious beer paired meals made from fresh, organic, seasonal and locally sourced ingredients, and beautiful gardens. There is also plenty of parking available.
Restaurant details
Description: This must-visit new Darling Brew Tasteroom & Brewery offers a fantastic day out and was developed to allow an all in one Darling Brew experience. In addition to a new state of the art brewery with increased capacity, the new premises offers an interactive and fascinating beer tasting experience in the tasting room and bar which overlooks the working microbrewery, a restaurant that serves delicious beer paired meals made from fresh, organic, seasonal and locally sourced ingredients, and beautiful gardens. There is also plenty of parking available.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beer Tasting to die for!”
Reviewed 26 February 2017

After the Harvest Lunch at Cloof, we went on to Darling Brewery for Craft Beer tasting.
There was one beer that impressed and stood out; a craft beer based on peach purée. Very nice on its own, but as a marinade and cooking stock for a pork dish?! So I will be playing with recipes and will post pictures! Sounds yummy already!!
We tried over 15 and left with a small selection. My car was quite full by this time!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa W, Owner at Darling Brewery, responded to this review, 27 February 2017
Hi Julian
Sounds like a fun weekend in Darling! Thanks so much for joining us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    38
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vereeniging, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My first beer tasting”
Reviewed 23 February 2017

A first for me and my husband. We could select which beer we wanted to taste. We even had a fruit flavored beer. We agreed between ourselves that the local lager taste was better than the export lager.

  • Visited February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Era0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa W, Owner at Darling Brewery, responded to this review, 24 February 2017
Thanks so much for joining us.
I hope we are the first of many craft beers that you try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Local is Lekker!”
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Being a Local in Darling, the Brew is one of my favorite places to have a beer on the weekends. I love the Gypsy Mask and Slow Beer!

Love the food - especially the burgers!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Huibrecht10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa W, Owner at Darling Brewery, responded to this review, 22 February 2017
Thanks for your continued support. Where would we be without our locals, real brand ambassadors for DB.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KemptonPark
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“More flavours...”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

If you think that beer tasting can't consist of more than three beers......
Darling Brew offers wide selection of localy brewed beer for tasting. By the end of the tasting, there should at least be one that tickles your fancy....

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Airvertise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa W, Owner at Darling Brewery, responded to this review, 16 February 2017
Good to hear that with Darling Brew you always find a winner. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beer tasting”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

A great experience, enjoying the samples of various types of beers. Able to have snacks or something bit more substantial to make it a more pleasant day out! Would recommend it.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Missey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa W, Owner at Darling Brewery, responded to this review, 15 February 2017
Thanks so much for the great review and for joining us. Hope you enjoy your time in South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Darling Brewery also viewed

Darling, Western Cape
 
Darling, Western Cape
Darling, Western Cape
 

Been to Darling Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing