We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reservations.....”

The Thistle Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 38 Restaurants in Port Alfred
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Description: Our elegant signature restaurant, which serves a choice of two set menus, which change every week. Each menu has the option of being paired with wines from our award-winning wine list. Our Chef Debby and her team prepare all the dishes from scratch using quality ingredients and traditional preparation methods. The menus for the week are on display outside The Thistle. Vegan and vegetarian options are available. By Reservation Only. No under 12's. Dress Code is smart.
Restaurant details
Description: Our elegant signature restaurant, which serves a choice of two set menus, which change every week. Each menu has the option of being paired with wines from our award-winning wine list. Our Chef Debby and her team prepare all the dishes from scratch using quality ingredients and traditional preparation methods. The menus for the week are on display outside The Thistle. Vegan and vegetarian options are available. By Reservation Only. No under 12's. Dress Code is smart.
Reviewed 14 February 2018

My first surprise was to find that the dinner menu consisted of two table d’hote menus...meat or vegetarian and each made up of 5 courses with or with out wine/drink pairings. No a la carte option, Having said that the both fixed menu options were well executed if perhaps not every course might be to your choice/liking. The restaurant was quiet on our evening, which made the atmosphere a bit subdued. It would have been nice to have had a pre dinner drink, instead of going straight into,’dinner’ mode, but didn’t seem to be anywhere to go or offered.
Whilst this is clearly a high end establishment and run very professionally, there was something just a bit clinical and perhaps a bit formal about our dining experience....service was a tad sharp and it felt like you were being managed through each course, rather than left to enjoy the process before the next course was presented
All that said, the price offered extremely good value for what was provided.
Interesting to watch the kitchen in action....made up for the lack of fellow diners!

It is certainly a unique dining experience in PA.

Thank Celtic-Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2018

I wanted to take my wife here for a special occasion and tried to book a table. The executive telephoned me and explained they couldn't take the risk as the didn't have a special kitchen for preparing food for gluten-free clients.

    • Service
Thank Prof W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at The Thistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Prof W:

On the basis that you informed our Executive Chef that your wife was extremely sensitive to Gluten , I made the decision to regret this request.

As careful as we might be , there are factors over which we have no control , and serving a guest an item which would cause severe distress concerned me a great deal.

The only conversation that we can recall , was over a year ago, If there has been a more recent conversation , please could you contact me to discuss.

Wessel Benson
General Manager
Royal St Andrews Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

Had a very nice meal at The Thistle. Varied menu and quick friendly service. A nice place to spend the evening.

Thank LynnClegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at The Thistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Lynn:

Thank you for posting a review of your experience at The Thistle Restaurant.

I have passed your comments on to The Thistle Team, who appreciated them a great deal.

I hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Wessel Benson

General Manager
Royal St Andrews Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

The title of the review is for our maitre'd Robyn, he made the dinner memorable.
The food provided a gastronomic journey of note and 4 people in our 6 party table enjoyed super wine pairing with their four course meal.
The vegetarian option is to be highly recommended as is the Firm favorite and Mediterranean option.
Just a small observation, table decorations and table cloths
in an establishment of this caliber would benefit from a finer eye to detail.
Highly recommend this restaurant

2  Thank Graeme J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at The Thistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear Graeme:

Thank you for posting a review of your experience at The Thistle Restaurant.

I have passed your comments on to The Thistle Team, who appreciated them a great deal.

Robin is also looking to see what he can add to the "show"for you next visit .

I hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Wessel Benson

General Manager
Royal St Andrews Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

We had an excellent dinner with perfect wine pairing. The food helping were generous and the wine collection was perfect.

Thank Traveller_Oldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at The Thistle Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Dear Traveller Oldie:

Thank you for posting a review of your experience at The Thistle Restaurant.
I have passed your comments on to The Thistle Team, who appreciated them a great deal.

I hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager
Royal St Andrews Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thistle Restaurant also viewed

Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 

Been to The Thistle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing