We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Halyards Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$59
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
73
123
98
29
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
123
98
29
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboat cruisepool deckthe rivergreat weekendenjoyed our stayfriendly and helpful staffservice was excellentgreat value for moneyrooms are spaciousbeautiful hotelbeautiful viewmarinaportspiritupgradingrenovationbreakaway
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018

The hotel in general is in need of maintenance. Furniture and linen/towels is well worn and tatty. During peak Chrismas/New Year period hotel was full and noise levels at night unacceptable due to certain other guests. Staff were particularly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 95margaretv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Was one of the best secrets on the coast but has deteriorated due to the lack of maintenance housekeeping and sanitation. Its very disappointing to see such a landmark literally rotting away and the infrastructure not being maintained. Make the place look like its is on the website please.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank H1308HEgeorgea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Rooms need upgrade to have modern look. The shower was not working as well. The furniture is old and broken. When opening the door fall off. But I enjoyed myself there. The pool bar was my favorite spot.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bonganib2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

We booked a family room. The layout is perfect but the room was very dirty. The bathrooms are worse. The food was over cooked. The Restuarant staff are very friendly but unprofessional. Urgent upgrade

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Olga H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

A picture tells a million of stories... This hotel needs a upgrade. We planned to stay there three nights in December 2017. The bathrooms were stained with rust. The couch was broken. And when I asked to see a room that could have been better than the one allocated, the receptionist advised us that that was the best out of all the rooms. The receptionist came across rude and abrupt. With that attitude we booked into the Royal St Andrews. Why didn't i book there initially.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bn412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews