We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit”
Review of The Highlander Pub

The Highlander Pub
Ranked #7 of 38 Restaurants in Port Alfred
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Description: An Iconic pub which has been the meeting place for family and friends in the Eastern Cape since 1979. Full bar service and including, cocktails and shooters.Three Craft beers on tap, one of which is specially made for the Highlander Pub.Full a la Carte Menu with vegetarian and kiddies items.Several TV screens for the sports fans. Famous for it's " See you at The Highlander" invitation.
Restaurant details
Description: An Iconic pub which has been the meeting place for family and friends in the Eastern Cape since 1979. Full bar service and including, cocktails and shooters.Three Craft beers on tap, one of which is specially made for the Highlander Pub.Full a la Carte Menu with vegetarian and kiddies items.Several TV screens for the sports fans. Famous for it's " See you at The Highlander" invitation.
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Popped in for pizza and snacks.. and cold beer. Thanks for stocking Tafel Later, not enough folks do!
Food was good and tasty with friendly quick service. As in the previous establishment here, the location is great with some activity on the river and in the harbor always going on during the day

Thank Toff_Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2018

The atmosphere is what you expect of a pub. The food is great and plentiful. Staff are friendly and efficient.

Thank Clarissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at The Highlander Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Dear Clarissa:

Thank you for posting a review of your visit to the Highlander Pub.

I have passed your comments on to the Highlander team, who appreciated them a great deal.

We hope we see you in the Highlander Pub again soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager
Royal St Andrews Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Was visiting the Royal St Andrews Hotel and stopped off here for lunch and a few drinks.

Staff and service were immaculate, the food was pitch perfect. I had the Warthog Burger and my less adventurous friend had nachos, both were the best I’ve had.

And the Highlander beer is an absolute must. If you’re in port Alfred make sure to stop by this place!

Thank Llewelyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at The Highlander Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear Llewelyn:

Thank you for posting a review of your visit to the Highlander Pub.

I have passed your comments on to the Highlander team, who appreciated them a great deal.

We hope we see you in the Highlander Pub again soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager
Royal St Andrews Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

We eat at the pub regularly. The food is good, the drinks are cold and the staff are friendly. You will love this if you enjoy a traditional pub atmosphere - in summer there is lovely seating outside.

Thank SusanR3586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at The Highlander Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Susan:

Thank you for posting a review of your visit to the Highlander Pub.

I have passed your comments on to the Highlander team, who appreciated them a great deal.

We hope we see you in the Highlander Pub again soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager
Royal St Andrews Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

There are limited restaurants in Port Alfred that serve decent food and this used to be one of them. Unfortunately the standards here are steadily going downhill while their prices are going steeply uphill! To pay R200.00 in a pub for a poor, tasteless and tough T Bone steak is rediculous! I now drive to Kenton for a restaurant that is cheaper and has far superior prepared food. Maybe management should do the same and also spend more time looking at their food standards instead of wasting time giving technical comments to dissatisfied client on their advertised"Line Fish" / Barbel etc. - which is disgusting.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Glenn0K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at The Highlander Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear Glenn:

Thank you for posting a review of your visit to the Highlander Pub.

Please accept my apologies for the poor standards you were exposed to.

I note that there is no mention in your review of speaking to a staff member during your meal , who could have replaced the dish, or offered an alternative.

Wessel Benson
General Manager
Royal St Andrews Hote

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Highlander Pub also viewed

Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 

Been to The Highlander Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing