We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of The Highlander Pub

The Highlander Pub
Ranked #6 of 36 Restaurants in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Description: An Iconic pub which has been the meeting place for family and friends in the Eastern Cape since 1979. Full bar service and including, cocktails and shooters.Three Craft beers on tap, one of which is specially made for the Highlander Pub.Full a la Carte Menu with vegetarian and kiddies items.Several TV screens for the sports fans. Famous for it's " See you at The Highlander" invitation.
Restaurant details
Description: An Iconic pub which has been the meeting place for family and friends in the Eastern Cape since 1979. Full bar service and including, cocktails and shooters.Three Craft beers on tap, one of which is specially made for the Highlander Pub.Full a la Carte Menu with vegetarian and kiddies items.Several TV screens for the sports fans. Famous for it's " See you at The Highlander" invitation.
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

One would think it is a lesser quality food eatery seeing as the Thistle is a fine food one right next door, but no. Food is just as good. Mood is jovial and friendly. Try this one first with friends or a group then go next door as a couple or for fine food dining. Just as so good.

Thank Thobela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at The Highlander Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Thobela:

Thank you for posting a review of our restaurants.

I have passed your comments on to the Kitchen Team, who appreciated them a great deal.

We hope we see you in both the Highlander Pub and The Thistle Restaurant again soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager
Royal St Andrews Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

Pleasant enough pub and service Location is not great but views are limited. Need a better wine selection. Fish and chips was the winning dish for the family

Thank SL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at The Highlander Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Dear SL M:

Thank you for posting a review of your visit to the Highlander Pub.

We hope we see you in the Highlander Pub again soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager
Royal St Andrews Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Went for lunch, place was not even busy. Ordered drinks and food and after other patrons got there food, it became obvious that our food order was never done.

Really disappointed.

Thank adrian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at The Highlander Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Dear Adrian:

Please accept my apologies for the poor standards you were exposed to.

I would appreciate more details - day and time would assist me in following up with the Team members concerned to ensure that the standards we expect are maintained at all times.

We hope we will see you again soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager
Royal St Andrews Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

Just enjoyed an absolutely first class meal at this lovely pub/restaurant. From the moment a friend and I arrived for lunch we received nothing but attentive service. We were seated immediately by our friendly waitress and offered menus and drinks. We both ordered the local Kowie Gold Pilsener beer, as well as a glass of water with ice. These arrived in short order, and we ordered lunch - fish and ships for me and a Caesar salad for my friend. We had hardly had time to chat before our lunch was brought to the table. Mine consisted of 2 piping hot beer-battered fish fillets, served on a wooden tranche with mushy peas and a beer tankard filled to the brim of crispy hand cut chips. As I cut into the crisp coating of the fish, a quick puff of steam escaped. It was cooked to perfection, with a very tasty batter. My friend's Caesar salad was served in a wooden bowl, with fresh crispy mixed lettuce, bacon, croutons and a delicious dressing. We ended our meal with a frothy cappuccino for me and an espresso for my friend - we were tempted to order dessert but felt rather full after the generous meal we had enjoyed.

Compliments to our waitress who checked on us regularly, removing our plates as soon as we had emptied them, and to the manager who also paid our table a visit to check on us. We will most definitely be back!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hydejanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at The Highlander Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017

Dear Janet:


Thank you for posting a review of your visit to the Highlander Pub.

It was great to see you again.

I have passed your comments on to the Highlander team, who appreciated them a great deal.

We hope we see you in the Highlander Pub again soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager
Royal St Andrews Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

We were very disappointed with our food. We had been recommended to go here. Maybe it was just the wrong night.
We ate in the bar.

Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at The Highlander Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2017

Dear Penny T:

Thank you for posting a review of your visit to the Highlander Pub.

Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you experienced.

Its a pity that you did not speak to the manager on duty , who would have been able to adress your specific concerns.

We hope we see you in the Highlander Pub again soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager
Royal St Andrews Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Highlander Pub also viewed

Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 

Been to The Highlander Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing