We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
excellentferret
Grahamstown, South Africa

Comfortable but a bit noisy

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 03 Oct 2016
We stayed here for a weekend away. Booking was smooth, the breakfast was good, and the manager was super friendly and efficient. It was also quite comfortable, but the room was a bit smaller than we expected, and the cries of people watching rugby in the next room carried clearly through the wall. I'd recommend it for a business trip, as there is decent wifi and a good breakfast.
Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
View of The Lookout
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Portofino Guest House
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 770
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Portofino Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
River Facing suite
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 884
  • Booking.com
0.9 km from Portofino Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 512
  • Booking.com
1.6 km from Portofino Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Off the grid Eagles Nest log cabin, view towards valley and river.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Portofino Guest House
Free parking
Pool
Room 2
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
1.7 km from Portofino Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool area
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 362
  • Booking.com
1.4 km from Portofino Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen En Suite
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.7 km from Portofino Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 094
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Portofino Guest House
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 7 828
  • Booking.com
8.7 km from Portofino Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Port Alfred
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
1
1
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1
1
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

The rooms in the guest house are badly in need of maintenance. The rooms are musty and smell of damp. We could not sit in the lounge as no air conditioner is in there and no windows. The cold water tap would only open a half turn and hence there was hardly any pressure. The basin is so small that one battles to shave.
The air conditioning suddenly stopped working at 11pm and came on again at 7am.
The towels are old and the bedding was stained.
Although there was coffee no milk or milk powder was present. When we went to complain in the morning the woman on duty who was Leanne would not come out of her room after repeatedly ringing the bell. One of workers eventually gave me the managers number who was off duty.
Instead of giving each room a remote for the gate, one has to fetch the remote in the rain and close the gate.
I have stayed in many guest houses but Portofino will never see me again.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Brian_PVGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2015

We were a group of 6 people, rooms wasn't aired out smelled terrible, we booked and paid 3 rooms in March our rooms were scattered all over instead of putting us in rooms next to each other. We have decided the Saturday evening we going out and we will rather have lunch on the Sunday in town and skipped breakfast there is nobody after 6 at reception so we could not cancel breakfast that was included in our rate. We were woken up by a rude hostess and she gave us a mouthful why did we not cancel and she did all the prep work ect.

I was very disappointed about the mould on bathroom tiles and the unfriendly manager/reception. Breakfast was very basic and a entrance gate that stands open no security and been set to automatically locks at midnight... That is not safe at all when we asked for a remote we get attitude which we insisted on a remote if you need to get out for an emergency or to go into town surely there must be access thru the main gate at any given time specially if there is nobody on the premises to assist you after 6 at night.

Will not recommend this place to anyone they can work on the mould in their bathrooms some of us got shampoo/shower gels in bathrooms others not and the coffee facilities and supply's in our rooms was shocking as well.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nnovello2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2015 via mobile

We stayed here overnight en route to Cape Town. We were a group of 12 and we were accommodated very comfortably. The rooms are spacious and clean. They provide fresh water as the tap water is undrinkable. I would suggest that they change the shower heads as they are a bit rusty, but other than that, the place is lovely. You also get free WiFi. Its a brisk walk to the ferry points. I would definitely recommend this place.

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Siphiwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews