We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Golf Course on Site”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Reviewed 2 March 2017

The hotel is okay, but a little dated, could do with refurbishing, however it is clean and tidy. It appears that after talking to a number of the hotel staff that the government is likely repossess the land at some stage in the future, hence why the owners are reluctant to invest in the business.
The meals were very good, staff very polite and helpful.
The golf course was excellent, and it would be a shame if this facility was lost!
The swimming pool was clean, but lacked staff in attendance.
The beach is not too far and easy reach by walking or taking the free Land Rover, the beach bar is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are recommended. Note: there are stairs and no lifts!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank neil d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

It's our first weekend away as a family to Fish River Sun. It's absolutely fantastic. We took advantage of the February package deal. It was so nice to not have to cook at all except for making coffee! The facilities are great and there is plenty to do there with the kids. My only criticism would be the communication regarding the meals I had paid for and them wanting to charge it to the room again. But I do understand the system now and will know better for next time. The breakfasts were amazing, I was a little disappointed with the dinners.... overall a great experience! Thank you. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Shaun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We stayed at the Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort for one week. Since this is a place for golters and we are not golfers our stay was a little bit disappointing (maybe we booked at the wrong place). This hotel is in a nice but remote location, the intenet facilities are very limited and enjoying a drink on the nice terrace is a problem with all these agressive monkeys around you. The staff is friendly, the rooms are comfortable and the food is ok although seven days buffet food is getting on your nerves.

Room Tip: Not on the first floor, kitchen smells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

what a way to start the last day of 2016, the champagne breakfast set a great level to crossover to greatness. the place has ambiance to die for.quite and great weather, a round of golf just give live tranquility and understanding that we travel to live life not to escape life. the staff is on point and give undivided attention all the time.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We experienced sunny smiles, excellent service from all the staff. The food was well presented and delicious. The room was clean and neat. Thank you for a fabulous relaxing weekend at your Hotel. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
25,4 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
340 reviews
26,5 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
419 reviews
25,8 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16,3 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
24,9 km away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#5 of 27 in Port Alfred
128 reviews
26 km away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 18 in Port Alfred
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort

Address: R72 Main Road | Port Alfred to East London, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Hotel Class:3 star — Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 83

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing