We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a three star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We stayed at the Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort for one week. Since this is a place for golters and we are not golfers our stay was a little bit disappointing (maybe we booked at the wrong place). This hotel is in a nice but remote location, the intenet facilities are very limited and enjoying a drink on the nice terrace is a problem with all these agressive monkeys around you. The staff is friendly, the rooms are comfortable and the food is ok although seven days buffet food is getting on your nerves.

Room Tip: Not on the first floor, kitchen smells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2017

what a way to start the last day of 2016, the champagne breakfast set a great level to crossover to greatness. the place has ambiance to die for.quite and great weather, a round of golf just give live tranquility and understanding that we travel to live life not to escape life. the staff is on point and give undivided attention all the time.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We experienced sunny smiles, excellent service from all the staff. The food was well presented and delicious. The room was clean and neat. Thank you for a fabulous relaxing weekend at your Hotel. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Although rooms quite old, Resort itself still harbours a wonderful "grande" feel.
Bathrooms require serious refurb but who really cares when there is so much to do outside with your kids. (however beware of the HUNDREDS of spiders and webs on the Bat Cave trail.)
Honestly one of the greatest weekends of my life with my 4 year old.
He asks to go back every single day!
Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: the 400 block!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 488justafoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We go to Fish River Sun purely because it's one of our favourite beaches in South Africa with stretches of beach with no crowds. Access is very limited- you can take quite a walk down, or wait for a shuttle (we waited an average of 20 minutes each time).

If you play golf, then the golf course is also a big benefit.

The rooms (be sure to book one with a lounge) are spacious and airconditioned and the option of having a lounge means also having a kitchen that is equipped including a dishwasher. We opt for the rooms that don't face the pool just to gwt some privacy and a view of the sea/ golf course rather than the pool.

It's so difficult to criticise the hotel, because the ameninites are there including a pool etc., and the staff are really friendly, but there is definitely room for improvement to make this a great establishment.

The food (dinner and breakfast was included) offers a large variety buffet which is average, but not bad and everything is fresh.

Overall- a great holiday destination, especially the beach.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lain_Lain2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
25,4 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
340 reviews
26,5 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
419 reviews
25,8 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16,3 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
24,9 km away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#5 of 27 in Port Alfred
128 reviews
26 km away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 18 in Port Alfred
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort

Address: R72 Main Road | Port Alfred to East London, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Hotel Class:3 star — Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 83

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing