We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most accommodating kitchen team!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our visit to the Royal St Andrews was lovely! I must commend Chef Debbie and her kitchen team as they went out of their way to accommodate vegan requests for breakfast. Very attentive and polite staff.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 75bjornr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 75bjonr,

Thank you for the review. Your positive feedback is much appreciated. I have passed passed your comments to Chef Debby and the kitchen team and they are very pleased that you are happy. Hope you will visit us again soon!

Difford Louw, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was decorated with a welcome and well wishes for our 46th anniversary
We enjoyed the spacious Heritage room with balcony and the swimming pool
The Breakfast menu is out of this world!
Really a home from home!!


  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jannierose2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear jannierose2015,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate your positive feedback and are happy that we could add to your special day. Hope to see you again in future!

Difford Louw, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is out of town but still not too far. It is tranquil and within walking distance of the beach. The service is top class, very welcoming and always will to help. The rooms are modern and comfortable. Meals are excellent.

Room Tip: if you a late sleeper, don't choose bathrooms with windows, as this may disturb guests due to ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Clarissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Clarissa:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.

I hope you return for another stay with us soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A wonderful two night break and extremely looked after. The catering , whether in the pub , breakfast room or the very special Thistle was excellent. Our grateful thanks to Management and Staff for their hospitality

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Grupip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Grupip:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.

I have passed your comments on to the Team, who appreciated them a great deal.

I hope you return for another stay with us soon.


Wessel Benson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were visiting Port Alfred for only one night on a whistle stop trip covering much of South Africa. If I had known about Royal St. Andrews I would undoubtedly have extended that portion of the trip to two or three nights.

The hotel itself is stunning, a very successful and not-overbearing blend of old and modern with extremely comfortable rooms that are stylish but not too much so.

The adjoining traditional Highlander pub next door is an absolute treat, great staff and service and especially great food (one absolutely must try the warthog burger).

Breakfast at the hotel is quite simply the best I have had. The restaurant setting is quite lovely, while the array of options for both continental and cooked breakfasts far exceed any I have experienced in other hotels. The food itself is equally pitch perfect (The eggs Benedict were absolutely spot on).

The service at breakfast was worthy of particular note; a lady called Medini (I asked for her name so that I could mention it later the service was just that good) greeted and seated us, explained the system, the dishes and even a little history to us. She didn’t linger overlong but she really took her time to make sure that we were quite content and comfortable - a genuine highlight of the stay.

Overall I couldn’t recommend this hotel enough, I will certainly be finding an excuse to revisit South Africa for leisure - and I will be making a beeline for the Royal St Andrews!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Llewelyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Llewelyn:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.

I have passed your comments on to the Team, who appreciated them a great deal, and have highlighted Medini's attitude and care as an example to all.


I hope you return for another stay with us soon.


Wessel Benson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alfred
1,4 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 5 in Port Alfred
361 reviews
1,2 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 5 in Port Alfred
343 reviews
10,1 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29,2 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
1,5 km away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#2 of 27 in Port Alfred
181 reviews
0,8 km away
A Villa de Mer
A Villa de Mer
#3 of 27 in Port Alfred
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal St Andrews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Andrews Hotel

Address: 19 St Andrews Road | West Bank, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range: R 1 018 - R 1 697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal St Andrews Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St Andrews Hotel, Conference Centre & Spa continues to honour a reputation of traditional hospitality dating back to 1924. The beautifully restored original building is home to the iconic Highlander Pub, The Thistle Restaurant and 9 “Heritage” rooms. A central courtyard and garden create a link to new facilities – a state of the art conference centre, 50 contemporary bedrooms and a Camelot Spa. The Thistle Restaurant is ideal for an intimate dinners or special occasions. The Thistle Restaurant is by Reservation only. We regret that no under 12’s are permitted. Dress code is smart. The Highlander Pub is a traditional pub featuring its own locally brewed craft beer and a Gastro Pub menu. The Paper Nautilus is a casual first come, first served style eatery overlooking a stunning courtyard and garden. A great meeting place for a scrumptious breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal St Andrews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing