We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The classiest joint in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great stay at this modern and new hotel whilst visiting family for the Christmas period. It’s definitly the most stylish place to stay for anyone visiting Port Alfred.

I was expecting a soulless conference hotel before arriving but was pleasently surprised at the attractive and well designed hotel building and very competent and eager to please staff members.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank ET197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear ET197:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.

I hope you return for another stay with us soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stunning boutique hotel in a great location, the rooms were beautifully decorated and equipped and the staff without exception, were helpful and friendly... a very comfortable stopover on our way to the Western Cape... we’ll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tracysw2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Tracy:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.

I hope we will see you again on your way back.

Wessel Benson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While we had a disappointing last night the rest of or stay was really good. The bed was super comfortable, the room was clean and spacious.
The restaurants were fantastic!
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wendybY6450KW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Wendy:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.

Please accept my apologies for the problems you encountered during your last night.

I hope you return for another stay with us soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I loved my short stay at this hotel because of the following reasons: beautiful hoteln excellent servicethey had friendly and helpful staff amd th great location : easily excessible to beaches . Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shahnazm888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Shahnaz:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.

I hope you return for another stay with us soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our most pleasant stay in Port Alfred. The service was excellent with very friendly staff. The facilities were clean and up to a good standard. We would definitely come back and recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bongisas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Bongi:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.

I hope you return for another stay with us soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alfred
1,2 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
340 reviews
1,4 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
350 reviews
10,1 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26,5 km away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
29,2 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
1,7 km away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 18 in Port Alfred
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal St Andrews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Andrews Hotel

Address: 19 St Andrews Road | West Bank, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range: R934 - R1 697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal St Andrews Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St Andrews Hotel, Conference Centre & Spa continues to honour a reputation of traditional hospitality dating back to 1924. The beautifully restored original building is home to the iconic Highlander Pub, The Thistle Restaurant and 9 “Heritage” rooms. A central courtyard and garden create a link to new facilities – a state of the art conference centre, 50 contemporary bedrooms and a Camelot Spa. The Thistle Restaurant is ideal for an intimate dinners or special occasions. The Thistle Restaurant is by Reservation only. We regret that no under 12’s are permitted. Dress code is smart. The Highlander Pub is a traditional pub featuring its own locally brewed craft beer and a Gastro Pub menu. The Paper Nautilus is a casual first come, first served style eatery overlooking a stunning courtyard and garden. A great meeting place for a scrumptious breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal St Andrews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing