We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal St Andrews Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$528
US$515
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$57
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$797
US$776
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$970
US$894
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveller rating
332
88
14
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
332
88
14
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshighlander pubcamelot spanew sectionheritage roomamazing hotelgolf coursegolf clubmodern hotelexcellent servicehot breakfastworld classsmall townbusiness tripfamily holidayenjoyed our stayrooms are spacioustop class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 440 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2017

This was my first trip to Royal St Andrews Hotel and it most certainly won't be my last. While there are many hotels these days that provide impressive infrastructure, there are very few that succeed in creating an authentic guest experience where one can really connect with the staff. The team at Royal St Andrews personify authenticism in the way they communicate with each other as well as with guests.

I was so impressed with the diversity of rooms, the quality of the spa and the attention to detail expressed across so many touch points. A visit to the breakfast room is never without a friendly and genuine greeting from the team who couldn't be happier to get your day off to the best start. This approach seems to continue throughout one's stay.

I would like to congratulate the leadership team at the hotel as they have developed a superb, family-oriented culture which, as a guest, one cannot help but be aware of and greatly appreciate.

Really looking forward to my next trip.

Sincerely,
Rob

Room Tip: Heritage Rooms are spectacular.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbycharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Rob:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.

I have passed your comments onto the staff , who will be glad to see how their attitude and actions make such a difference to a guest stay.

I hope we see you again very soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Wonderfull place to stay. have stayed with my family 4 times in this hotel over the past year while visiting our son who study at 43 Air School.

Staff are very friendly and the evning dinners at the restaurant a world class.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rui F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Rui:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us, and for the your comment on dinner in the Highlander Pub.

I hope you return for another stay with us soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

After a disappointing night at another hotel, we were not expecting much. What a gorgeous surprise, we really loved our stay! Our room was beautiful and chic. The staff were super friendly, helpful and went the extra mile. Fast wi-fi. Great food. Quiet and peaceful. Excellent service all round. We tell everyone about the Royal St. Andrews! Well done and thank you to the staff and management.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank MrsNEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Nomfundo:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.

I have passed your comments on to the team, who appreciated them a great deal.

I hope you return for another stay with us soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

the service was good, rooms are perfecto I could stay longer. good food they have and location of the hotel is easy to find. waitress are very friendly. one thing though, they hotel should cater hallal too. definately coming back again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maphelol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Maphelo:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.

Due to its specific requirements we do not prepare Halaal items. on your next stay we can provide the details of a very good Halaal caterer in Port Alfred.

I hope you return soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

This venue really exceeded much expectations. Rooms very clean and functional and well finished. Big, wonderful showers. Friendly people. This place will do well if it stays the way it is for the long term.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank granth425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Dear Grant:
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.

I hope you return for another stay with us soon , and that after your you can point out that we have improved !

Wessel Benson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews