We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for business ...and relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Very nice location in Port Alfred, clean spacious rooms, lovely pub and amazing spa the staff is very friendly and helpful cosy meeting room and the food was nice excellent general impression of the hotel

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank florencep690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Florence:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.
I have passed your comments on to the Camelot Spa team, who appreciated them a great deal.
I hope you return for another stay with us soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

This was my first trip to Royal St Andrews Hotel and it most certainly won't be my last. While there are many hotels these days that provide impressive infrastructure, there are very few that succeed in creating an authentic guest experience where one can really connect with the staff. The team at Royal St Andrews personify authenticism in the way they communicate with each other as well as with guests.

I was so impressed with the diversity of rooms, the quality of the spa and the attention to detail expressed across so many touch points. A visit to the breakfast room is never without a friendly and genuine greeting from the team who couldn't be happier to get your day off to the best start. This approach seems to continue throughout one's stay.

I would like to congratulate the leadership team at the hotel as they have developed a superb, family-oriented culture which, as a guest, one cannot help but be aware of and greatly appreciate.

Really looking forward to my next trip.

Sincerely,
Rob

Room Tip: Heritage Rooms are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbycharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Rob:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.

I have passed your comments onto the staff , who will be glad to see how their attitude and actions make such a difference to a guest stay.

I hope we see you again very soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Wonderfull place to stay. have stayed with my family 4 times in this hotel over the past year while visiting our son who study at 43 Air School.

Staff are very friendly and the evning dinners at the restaurant a world class.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rui F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Rui:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us, and for the your comment on dinner in the Highlander Pub.

I hope you return for another stay with us soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

After a disappointing night at another hotel, we were not expecting much. What a gorgeous surprise, we really loved our stay! Our room was beautiful and chic. The staff were super friendly, helpful and went the extra mile. Fast wi-fi. Great food. Quiet and peaceful. Excellent service all round. We tell everyone about the Royal St. Andrews! Well done and thank you to the staff and management.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank MrsNEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Nomfundo:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.

I have passed your comments on to the team, who appreciated them a great deal.

I hope you return for another stay with us soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

the service was good, rooms are perfecto I could stay longer. good food they have and location of the hotel is easy to find. waitress are very friendly. one thing though, they hotel should cater hallal too. definately coming back again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maphelol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Maphelo:

Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us.

Due to its specific requirements we do not prepare Halaal items. on your next stay we can provide the details of a very good Halaal caterer in Port Alfred.

I hope you return soon.

Wessel Benson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alfred
1,2 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
340 reviews
1,4 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
352 reviews
10,1 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26,5 km away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
29,2 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
1,7 km away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 18 in Port Alfred
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal St Andrews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Andrews Hotel

Address: 19 St Andrews Road | West Bank, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range: R930 - R1 688 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal St Andrews Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St Andrews Hotel, Conference Centre & Spa continues to honour a reputation of traditional hospitality dating back to 1924. The beautifully restored original building is home to the iconic Highlander Pub, The Thistle Restaurant and 9 “Heritage” rooms. A central courtyard and garden create a link to new facilities – a state of the art conference centre, 50 contemporary bedrooms and a Camelot Spa. The Thistle Restaurant is ideal for an intimate dinners or special occasions. The Thistle Restaurant is by Reservation only. We regret that no under 12’s are permitted. Dress code is smart. The Highlander Pub is a traditional pub featuring its own locally brewed craft beer and a Gastro Pub menu. The Paper Nautilus is a casual first come, first served style eatery overlooking a stunning courtyard and garden. A great meeting place for a scrumptious breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal St Andrews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing