We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$532
US$513
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$803
US$776
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Graham Hotel(Grahamstown)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$978
US$905
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveller rating
332
87
14
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
332
87
14
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshighlander pubcamelot spanew sectionheritage roomamazing hotelgolf coursegolf clubmodern hotelexcellent servicehot breakfastworld classsmall townbusiness tripfamily holidayenjoyed our stayrooms are spacioustop class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 439 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Rooms have been refurbished really well and the new section that was recently built is great. The hotel looks lovely, the garden is beautiful and the pool area is great. The bar/pub has a fantastic menu with great food. Their specially made beer is honestly one of the best I have ever had. Emma, the child minder, was superb and very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOLFnatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Dear LOLFnatic: Thank you for posting a review of the Royal St Andrews Hotel. Our Highlander Lager is a great beer, and I hope you return soon to enjoy another glass.

Wessel Benson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Stunning hotel, beautifully decorated and spacious rooms, loved that the kids had their own interleading room. Staff were very friendly and very efficient. Kids loved play area. Had a lovely dinner at the warm and old charm Highlander Pub.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank LAB1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

Dear LAB1974: Thank you for posting a review of the Royal St Andrews Hotel. It was great to see you here, and please return soon with the family for a longer stay and try the Camelot Spa.

Wessel Benson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Great blend of the old with the new. The original hotel has been extended with a very modern extention.

Great friendly staff. Quality breakfast alway great to find a decent eggs benedict or Royal as it appears on the menue. Champagne with breakfast is also a good touch.

A lovely garden and pool are also on hand. A play room for the chidren is another good feature. Free wifi is provided.

The restaurant and bar are great for a meal and to unwind after a long day. Try the local beer it wenf down very well.

The room is spacious with a shower big enough to shoot a music video in.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank Warren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Dear Warren D : Thank you for posting a review of the Royal St Andrews Hotel. Your photographs are amazing, please post some of them on Instagram -@royalstandrewshotelandspa . I hope we see you again soon.

Wessel Benson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

A good hotel next to the sea and golf course but with cold weather stayed indoors and only sport could have been swimming & SPA and water very cold skipped. Please try and create heated swimming spool.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thomasnD9759NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Dear ThomasnD9759NI : Thank you very much for posting a review of The Royal St Andrews review. We will definitely give some thought to heating the pool. I hope we see you again soon.

Wessel Benson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

My visit at the Royal St Andrews was amazing! The rooms are fantastic and worth it! The food in the Thistle and the highlander are top standard. My husband and I loved our stay will be back very soon!! (ideal for kids as well!)

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank siobhan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Dear Siobhan B: Thank you for your review of the Royal st Andrews Hotel. I am glad that you could enjoy a meal in both the Highlander Pub and The Thistle Restaurant. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Wessel Benson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews