We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Great blend of the old with the new. The original hotel has been extended with a very modern extention.

Great friendly staff. Quality breakfast alway great to find a decent eggs benedict or Royal as it appears on the menue. Champagne with breakfast is also a good touch.

A lovely garden and pool are also on hand. A play room for the chidren is another good feature. Free wifi is provided.

The restaurant and bar are great for a meal and to unwind after a long day. Try the local beer it wenf down very well.

The room is spacious with a shower big enough to shoot a music video in.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank Warren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2016

Dear Warren D : Thank you for posting a review of the Royal St Andrews Hotel. Your photographs are amazing, please post some of them on Instagram -@royalstandrewshotelandspa . I hope we see you again soon.

Wessel Benson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 258 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2016

A good hotel next to the sea and golf course but with cold weather stayed indoors and only sport could have been swimming & SPA and water very cold skipped. Please try and create heated swimming spool.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thomasnD9759NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Dear ThomasnD9759NI : Thank you very much for posting a review of The Royal St Andrews review. We will definitely give some thought to heating the pool. I hope we see you again soon.

Wessel Benson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

My visit at the Royal St Andrews was amazing! The rooms are fantastic and worth it! The food in the Thistle and the highlander are top standard. My husband and I loved our stay will be back very soon!! (ideal for kids as well!)

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank siobhan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Dear Siobhan B: Thank you for your review of the Royal st Andrews Hotel. I am glad that you could enjoy a meal in both the Highlander Pub and The Thistle Restaurant. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Wessel Benson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Your service was excellent, on friday we checked in at 21:00 but the people that were in the reception was still friendly as if it was a morning. The room was beautiful and neat. The hotel is in a queit area & beautiful. What I like about your hotel is the decor.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank phelelwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Dear phelewa: Thank you for posting a review of the Royal St Andrews hotel. The reception staff were very happy to see your comment with regards their friendliness. Please visit us again soon.

Wessel Benson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We had a wonderful weekend at this beautiful establishment. I can highly recommend it. Rooms are spacious and luxurious and the staff are very friendly and attentive. The food are really good. We did not have time to go to the Camelot Spa, but next time we will make an effort to do that. We were welcomed with hot chocolate on a very cold afternoon.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnelieDirker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Dear AnnelieDirker: Thank you for posting a review of the Royal st Andrews Hotel. Please return soon, and plan to visit the Camelot Spa. I am sure that you will find the experience well worth it.

Wessel Benson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alfred
1,2 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
340 reviews
1,4 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
350 reviews
10,1 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26,5 km away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
29,2 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
1,7 km away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 18 in Port Alfred
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal St Andrews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Andrews Hotel

Address: 19 St Andrews Road | West Bank, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range: R934 - R1 697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal St Andrews Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St Andrews Hotel, Conference Centre & Spa continues to honour a reputation of traditional hospitality dating back to 1924. The beautifully restored original building is home to the iconic Highlander Pub, The Thistle Restaurant and 9 “Heritage” rooms. A central courtyard and garden create a link to new facilities – a state of the art conference centre, 50 contemporary bedrooms and a Camelot Spa. The Thistle Restaurant is ideal for an intimate dinners or special occasions. The Thistle Restaurant is by Reservation only. We regret that no under 12’s are permitted. Dress code is smart. The Highlander Pub is a traditional pub featuring its own locally brewed craft beer and a Gastro Pub menu. The Paper Nautilus is a casual first come, first served style eatery overlooking a stunning courtyard and garden. A great meeting place for a scrumptious breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal St Andrews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing