We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel for 200km”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

It's easy to see why this hotel is rated number 1 by tripadvisor and Expedia. Welcome drink on check in. Smooth check in and keys ready and bags up in the room before you've even finished your drink. No squirming over a credit card to leave on file. They know you will settle on check out so no need to be pedantic and swipe a card twice. The entire hotel including the three restaurants (see review of the Highlander) all allow you to sign food and drink to the room. The Camelot Spa also allows you to sign to the room so there is no need to carry a wallet around for the duration of your stay. We had booked into the Heritage rooms. Room 10 was the furtherest away from the stairs but also quite near the Pyjama lounge (which can be a little noisy if neighboirs are being selfish on returning from an evening out). The room itself was done perfectly with an immense bathroom with bath and shower. The main area had instant as well as Nespresso type coffee machine. We had a private balcony which we watched the sunrise every morning. Our family stayed on the standard rooms and I can highly recommend those also. They only have showers. But they also have semi private patios facing the gardens of the hotel and the sunset views. I can't speak highly enough about this hotel, we travel often and I'm often hyper aware of hotel shortcomings. The Royal is superb. Do yourself a Favour. Contact the Camelot Spa and book a sundowner Hot Tub hour, get a bottle of bubbly and enjoy the evening. We sat in the rain and it was marvelous. We will return for sure.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Eugene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Eugene S : Thank you very much for an amazing review. I hope that we see you here again soon.

Wessel Benson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 295 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2016

Had the best stay ever. Loved the reception staff, so friendly and always laughing.

AWESOMENESS !!!!!! stunning decor. Nice to see the old with the new.

Will be back with the crazy family next time

This is value for money

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank j0hankruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2016

Dear Johankruger: I hope you will bring the crazy family soon and that there will be more laughter. Thank you very much for posting a review of the Royal st Andrews Hotel.

Wessel Benson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

The staff were friendly and efficient.. The room was very comfortable, clean and tastefully appointed. We loved the coffee machine. There was a good selection at breakfast. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank basil_gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Dear Basil_gill: Thank you for a great review. The coffee machines in our Heritage rooms certainly make a difference. I hope you visit the Royal St Andrews Hotel again soon.

Wessel Benson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

After travelling the dirt roads (11 hours) through the beautiful Eastern Cape, we were looking for a guest house/BB. Passed the Royal St Andrews Hotel and decided to see if they have a room available. The receptionist was so friendly, I felt home immediately. The room was beautiful. And the bathroom stunning. Everything we needed were there. Wi-Fi connected without problems. Hairdryer, kettle, TV, everything worked. After a good sleep, breakfast was amazing. The friendly staff seated us, the chef greeted us. I really felt special. The food were delicious, the fruit fresh, and the waiters attending to all our needs with smiles and I loved talking to them. Thank you for making it special to me.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room nest to the SPA
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronelgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Dear Ronelgrove: Thank you for your great review, and for deciding to stay at the Royal St Andrews Hotel. I do hope you visit us again soon.

Wessel Benson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Awesome service, staff members were very friendly. Rooms were clean.
It's generally a beautiful hotel, from the architectural design right through to the decor.
In summary, it was a home away from home for me. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank n0ssim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalStaGM1, General Manager at Royal St Andrews Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Dear n0ssim: Thank you for an awesome review ! We look forward to seeing you at The Royal st Andrews Hotel again soon.

Wessel Benson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alfred
1,2 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
340 reviews
1,4 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
350 reviews
10,1 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26,5 km away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
29,2 km away
Kariega Game Reserve - River Lodge
1,7 km away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 18 in Port Alfred
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal St Andrews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal St Andrews Hotel

Address: 19 St Andrews Road | West Bank, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range: R922 - R1 708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal St Andrews Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal St Andrews Hotel, Conference Centre & Spa continues to honour a reputation of traditional hospitality dating back to 1924. The beautifully restored original building is home to the iconic Highlander Pub, The Thistle Restaurant and 9 “Heritage” rooms. A central courtyard and garden create a link to new facilities – a state of the art conference centre, 50 contemporary bedrooms and a Camelot Spa. The Thistle Restaurant is ideal for an intimate dinners or special occasions. The Thistle Restaurant is by Reservation only. We regret that no under 12’s are permitted. Dress code is smart. The Highlander Pub is a traditional pub featuring its own locally brewed craft beer and a Gastro Pub menu. The Paper Nautilus is a casual first come, first served style eatery overlooking a stunning courtyard and garden. A great meeting place for a scrumptious breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal St Andrews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing