We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$108
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$39
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$438
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$504/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sheilan House(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A Villa de Mer(Port Alfred)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach House(Port Alfred)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mansfield Reserve(Port Alfred)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Guest House(Port Alfred)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
5
7
5
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
7
5
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

The place is beautiful and clean. The view is breathtaking. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. More especially the lady who works at the reception, she was very friendly even took pictures for us and was very patient. We are definitely coming back.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Thumeka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

The rooms in the guest house are badly in need of maintenance. The rooms are musty and smell of damp. We could not sit in the lounge as no air conditioner is in there and no windows. The cold water tap would only open a half turn and hence there was hardly any pressure. The basin is so small that one battles to shave.
The air conditioning suddenly stopped working at 11pm and came on again at 7am.
The towels are old and the bedding was stained.
Although there was coffee no milk or milk powder was present. When we went to complain in the morning the woman on duty who was Leanne would not come out of her room after repeatedly ringing the bell. One of workers eventually gave me the managers number who was off duty.
Instead of giving each room a remote for the gate, one has to fetch the remote in the rain and close the gate.
I have stayed in many guest houses but Portofino will never see me again.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian_PVGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Easily accessible. Situated 3 km from town. I really enjoy my stay except that it was too hot and the airconditioner is situated the main bedroom. During the night I could not sleep due to a noise that sounded like an airconditioner or a fan.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sindileb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016

I have stayed over before once with a family and remember the rooms being a lot nicer. Duvet and towels must be clean. Room must be clean. Aircon must work. I'm not fussy but disappointed as paid a bit.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cindyd27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015

room very small not what it seemed to be on the internet.dampness inbathroom caused bad smell.no view as advertised.friendly receptionist very helpfull but room not value for money.wont recommend friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 771mariechenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews