We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jeanne L
Durban, South Africa

Accessible with great views

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Mar 2017
Stunning views over Prince Alfred with awesome sunrise and sunsets. The gardens are neat and the place has a greek/tropical feel. The rooms comfortable with clean linen and good mattress for a good nights sleep. The kitchen implements best for toast or cereal breakfasts. I am not sure if I would want to be there in peak season with all the wooden floors. The best calling card is accessibility to town.
Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
River Facing suite
R 859
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 040
  • Agoda.com
    R 766
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 040
1.0 km from Portofino Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 900
  • Priceline
    R 900
  • Expedia.com
    R 883
  • Hotels.com
    R 900
0.3 km from Portofino Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 600
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 584
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 328
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 600
1.4 km from Portofino Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool area
R 2 115
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 115
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 078
  • Tripadvisor
    R 2 078
1.3 km from Portofino Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 522
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 482
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 215
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 522
1.5 km from Portofino Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 988
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 988
0.4 km from Portofino Guest House
Free parking
Beachfront
R 1 100
  • Priceline
    R 1 100
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 100
  • Vio.com
    R 1 097
1.3 km from Portofino Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 800
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 800
  • Vio.com
    R 1 800
0.4 km from Portofino Guest House
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 1 100
  • Priceline
    R 1 100
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 100
0.3 km from Portofino Guest House
Free parking
Pool
Villa Majestic building
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
    R 950
  • Agoda.com
3.6 km from Portofino Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Port Alfred
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
6
7
5
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
7
5
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

The place is beautiful and clean. The view is breathtaking. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. More especially the lady who works at the reception, she was very friendly even took pictures for us and was very patient. We are definitely coming back😁.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank thumekaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

The rooms in the guest house are badly in need of maintenance. The rooms are musty and smell of damp. We could not sit in the lounge as no air conditioner is in there and no windows. The cold water tap would only open a half turn and hence there was hardly any pressure. The basin is so small that one battles to shave.
The air conditioning suddenly stopped working at 11pm and came on again at 7am.
The towels are old and the bedding was stained.
Although there was coffee no milk or milk powder was present. When we went to complain in the morning the woman on duty who was Leanne would not come out of her room after repeatedly ringing the bell. One of workers eventually gave me the managers number who was off duty.
Instead of giving each room a remote for the gate, one has to fetch the remote in the rain and close the gate.
I have stayed in many guest houses but Portofino will never see me again.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Brian_PVGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Easily accessible. Situated 3 km from town. I really enjoy my stay except that it was too hot and the airconditioner is situated the main bedroom. During the night I could not sleep due to a noise that sounded like an airconditioner or a fan.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sindileb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2016

I have stayed over before once with a family and remember the rooms being a lot nicer. Duvet and towels must be clean. Room must be clean. Aircon must work. I'm not fussy but disappointed as paid a bit.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cindyd27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2015

room very small not what it seemed to be on the internet.dampness inbathroom caused bad smell.no view as advertised.friendly receptionist very helpfull but room not value for money.wont recommend friends and family.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 771mariechenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews