We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Receptionist”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Alfred
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Portofino Guest House
Ranked #22 of 27 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

The place is beautiful and clean. The view is breathtaking. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. More especially the lady who works at the reception, she was very friendly even took pictures for us and was very patient. We are definitely coming back.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Thumeka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

The rooms in the guest house are badly in need of maintenance. The rooms are musty and smell of damp. We could not sit in the lounge as no air conditioner is in there and no windows. The cold water tap would only open a half turn and hence there was hardly any pressure. The basin is so small that one battles to shave.
The air conditioning suddenly stopped working at 11pm and came on again at 7am.
The towels are old and the bedding was stained.
Although there was coffee no milk or milk powder was present. When we went to complain in the morning the woman on duty who was Leanne would not come out of her room after repeatedly ringing the bell. One of workers eventually gave me the managers number who was off duty.
Instead of giving each room a remote for the gate, one has to fetch the remote in the rain and close the gate.
I have stayed in many guest houses but Portofino will never see me again.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian_PVGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Easily accessible. Situated 3 km from town. I really enjoy my stay except that it was too hot and the airconditioner is situated the main bedroom. During the night I could not sleep due to a noise that sounded like an airconditioner or a fan.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sindileb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016

I have stayed over before once with a family and remember the rooms being a lot nicer. Duvet and towels must be clean. Room must be clean. Aircon must work. I'm not fussy but disappointed as paid a bit.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cindyd27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015

room very small not what it seemed to be on the internet.dampness inbathroom caused bad smell.no view as advertised.friendly receptionist very helpfull but room not value for money.wont recommend friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 771mariechenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
0,3 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 5 in Port Alfred
343 reviews
1 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 5 in Port Alfred
361 reviews
1,5 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Alfred
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,3 km away
Dune House
Dune House
#8 of 27 in Port Alfred
22 reviews
0,1 km away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#2 of 27 in Port Alfred
181 reviews
0,3 km away
Snug Harbour
Snug Harbour
#17 of 27 in Port Alfred
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Guest House

Address: Portofino Guest House | 27 Ferndale Road, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range: R 672 - R 822 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portofino Guest House is positioned overlooking the Royal Alfred Marina and the bustling small boat harbour. With breathtaking ocean views from our deck you can sit back and relax in the warm atmosphere of this comfortable guest house. You may enjoy Port Alfred's sunny weather from our outdoor pool set in tranquil gardens. The guest house has ample safe and secure parking on site. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing