We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner with friends”
Review of Graze By The River

Graze By The River
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Graze by the River is a coffee bar and bistro situated in one of the original 1820 settler's home next to the banks of the Kowie River in Port Alfred. The venue boasts a private garden area at the back of the property where you can escape from the busy Van der Riet st and enjoy freshly roasted coffee or sample some of the many homemade dishes on offer. The menu is based on locally available produce from fresh seafood, smoked meats and organic vegetables, interesting tasty dishes are supplemented by daily specials. The restaurant has its own smoker for preparing a lot of the dishes and the coffee bar roasts its own green beans daily ensuring good quality fresh coffee. So whether your looking for a great breakfast, some coffee and cake or a tasty homemade meal come and enjoy the experience of Graze by the River. Evening meals are strictly by reservation and we are closed on Wednesday. We serve breakfast from 9.00am until 11.30 with lunch from 12 noon, reservations are preferred.
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Yesterday we went to this beautiful restaurant in the afternoon and we loved it. So we asked if we could have dinner here on saturday(today), since we got bored of the other restaurants in PA. Nick the owner replied if you call me before 12 tomorrow morning to confirm the booking ill open up, even it is only for two persons.

So this morning before twelve we called to make a reservation for 3 persons, which we quickly changed to 4 and eventually we showed up with 5. Everyone had a blast, delicious freshly caught sea food and honest advice. Two times Nick adviced agianst one of our choices, because one fish was fresh of that day and the other was three days old.

First place where we have delicious mussels, scallops and other fish but perhaps more importantly delicious vegatables. Fresh produce delivered daily, it stands out to your taste buds and apetite.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick-Howard, Owner at Graze By The River, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Dear Martin K

Thank you for leaving a review on your recent experience at GRAZE and it's always a pleasure to create great dishes for people who are passionate about good food and wine like you and your guests were the other evening, I am just sorry you've only just found GRAZE and now your leaving to go back to Holland!!! Still we wish you all well with your studies and exams here in South Africa and we look forward to seeing you before you return and hopefully when you revisit South Africa in the future, thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 100 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2016

Read online about this place so my husband and I decided to go try it out for a Saturday lunch. Was quite surprised as it was not on the river, it was near the river perhaps what the "by the river" is referring to. The garden seating place was ok, a little dingy. But the chef/owner seemed to be very interested in making quality food and that is definitely what we got. The organic vegetables and salad ingredients were delightful. For a good and reasonable meal worth the visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leeza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick-Howard, Owner at Graze By The River, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Dear Leeza G

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent dining experience at GRAZE and I am glad you and your husband enjoyed it. We have a partner that grows all our organic vegetables on the farm which is then delivered freshly cut each day to the restaurant, which you just can't beat. Your comments on the outside area have been noted but in all fairness we have been experiencing extremely high winds for the last 6 weeks and it has been challenging trying to keep this area outside clear of leaves and debris. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again at GRAZE when your next visiting Port Alfred.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

A lovely setting in the garden for a sunny day. White table cloths and cozy inside for those rainy days. Happy waitrons, tentative chef, delicious food. Can't go wrong!

Thank Spilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick-Howard, Owner at Graze By The River, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Dear Spilkins

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent dining experience at GRAZE and we are very pleased you enjoyed it so much, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful al fresco lunch, the most amazing scallops (everything else was great too) and fabulous service. Thank you very much!

Thank Gillianstaveley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick-Howard, Owner at Graze By The River, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Dear Gillianstaveley

Thank you for leaving a review on your recent experience at GRAZE and I am so glad you enjoyed the food so much, we have just managed to source these beautiful scallops so I am sure when you next return they will be on our a la carte menu, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again when your next in the area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Every time I return to Port Alfred I look forward to eating here. The food is delicious, freshly prepared and perfectly cooked and presented. The best prawns I have ever tasted. The atmosphere is wonderful, sitting outside in the garden in summer, or inside enjoying the fire when it's colder. Nick and his staff are wonderful, friendly, efficient and always welcoming. I enjoy having a browse in the shop on my way out and have never left empty handed yet.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ericahs6170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick-Howard, Owner at Graze By The River, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Dear Ericahs6170

Many thanks for leaving a review on your GRAZE experiences and we are very pleased you've enjoyed it so much. Thank you and we are looking forward to seeing you again when you next visit South Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Graze By The River also viewed

Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Graze By The River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing