We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
kimbuisson
Greater London, United Kingdom

Beautiful place to stay in Port Alfred

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 01 Apr 2024
Only able to stay one night but will definitely be back for longer next time. Beautiful location overlooking the Kowie river with bird spotting opportunities from the veranda of the delightfully decorated room. Opportunity to have a braai on the veranda if you want to, and finish off the stay with a sumptuous breakfast.
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ditte humphrey, General Manager at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this review
Responded 07 Apr 2024
Thank you Kim for the lovely review.
We appreciate it.
It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back
to KRGH and for you explore our beautiful town/beaches of Port Alfred.
Kind regards,
All @ KRGH

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
View of The Lookout
R 1 003
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Kowie River Guest House
Free parking
Pool
River Facing suite
R 1 130
R 1 043
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Kowie River Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 491
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.7 km from Kowie River Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Off the grid Eagles Nest log cabin, view towards valley and river.
R 937
R 898
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Kowie River Guest House
Free parking
Pool
Pool area
R 2 332
R 2 085
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Kowie River Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 893
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
1.6 km from Kowie River Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 2
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
2.3 km from Kowie River Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 788
  • eDreams
1.4 km from Kowie River Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen En Suite
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.9 km from Kowie River Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
    R 8 630
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 8 227
  • Hotels.com
9.8 km from Kowie River Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Port Alfred
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
257
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
257
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kowie river guest house gas braai self catering facilities place to stay welcoming hosts delicious breakfast lovely location great hospitality top class service was excellent a lovely stay enjoyed our stay dale guesthouse port fishing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2024

Friendly check-in, room excellent with all facilities provided for. View of river outstanding and birdlife varied and abundant. Location close to restaurants most convenient. Breakfast really excellent and enjoyed on our private patio.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pjenni159531
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ditte humphrey, General Manager at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2024

Thank you PJenni for the lovely review.
Awsome chatting to friends from school days!!!
It was a pleasure hosting you ( I owe you a breakfast!!!).
We trust you had a wonderful holiday.
Kind regards,
KRGH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2024

Really enjoyed staying here in a beautiful location with excellent hosts, Fabulous breakfasts, recommendations on places to visit including the local and top quality golf club. Very modern and superbly equipped bedroom.

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NoRiskAtAll123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ditte humphrey, General Manager at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2024

Dear NoRiskAtAll
Thank you for staying @ KRGH .
We appreciate the time taken to review KRGH.
We trust you had a lovely trip in our Beautiful country and we hope to welcome you back.
Kind regards,
KRGH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2024 via mobile

Our short stay at Kowie River Guest House was simply wonderful! The view of the Kowie River from our room was absolutely mesmerizing, creating a serene and tranquil atmosphere. The property itself was impeccably clean and well-maintained, and the sparkling pool was a refreshing oasis on a warm day. The friendly staff made us feel right at home, providing exceptional service throughout our visit. We left with beautiful memories and a desire to return for a longer stay. Thank you for a fantastic experience!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank shanespiers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ditte humphrey, General Manager at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2024

Dear Shane
Thank you for the lovely review. We appreciate it.
It was a pleasure hosting you.
 Lovely to have Eastern cape youngsters return for holidays.
We look forward to welcoming you back @ KRGH.
Kind regards,
Ditte Humphrey , KRGH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2023 via mobile

Loved my stay at this exceptional guesthouse. Immaculately clean, extraordinary attention to detail, best location in Port Alfred, stunning river view, and a breakfast on the patio fit for a king! Ditte and Graham are wonderful hospitable hosts.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank GavinS909
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ditte humphrey, General Manager at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2023

Thank you Gavin for the lovely review.
It was a pleasure meeting you and having you stay @ KRGH.
We look forward to your return visit.
Thank you from All @ KRGH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2023

It was perfect in everyway. Beautifully situated on the river, extremely comfortable and wonderful hosts. Breakfast was outstanding. Enjoy an african sunset on the patio or a trip up the river.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank susanattridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ditte humphrey, General Manager at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2023

Dear Susan
Thank you for taking the time to review KRGH. We appreciate it.
It was lovely having you stay with us and we hope to meet up again.
Kind regards from ALL @ KRGH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews