We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation and relaxing environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kowie River Guest House
Ranked #1 of 27 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are spacious and clean.
The staff is friendly and assist wherever they can.
The breakfast was a feast and the food was 5 star quality. Will have to go on a diet after all the lovely food. ;)
Highly recommendable and I will visit again.

Room Tip: Beautiful and clean.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CAPE-SCENIC-FLIGHTS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldfish027, Owner at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Well,good to know you are home after the extended visit!!!
Thank you for the review.
It was lovely meeting you and having you stay at our Guest House.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again.
Kind regards
KRGH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excel l ent room, bathroom and terras. Best breakfast we had during the trip of a month and overlooking the river and view on hills. Walking distance to centre. Hosts are very friendly and helpfull.
Relax at pool.
Have been there twice and will return.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ronald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldfish027, Owner at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks Ronald A for the lovely review.
We always look forward to welcoming you back to KRGH , room 3!!!!!!
Kind regards
KRGH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just about everything was perfect. Location is super with access direct to lagoon. House is very tastefully decorated. One does really feel at home. Host Ditte and husband Graham are charming and very welcoming as well as supportive towards their guests

Room Tip: All are perfect
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kees V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldfish027, Owner at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks Kees for the lovely review.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the end of the year for an extended stay.
Kind regards
KRGH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

Our 2 night stay at Kowie River Guest House fronting onto the river was excellent in every respect. We were warmly welcomed and accommodated in a spotlessly clean and extremely well equipped suite facing the river. Our host, Dale, was outstandingly friendly and helpful and provided us with a top-class breakfast each morning. We highly recommend this guest house which will certainly be our first choice on any future visit to Port Alfred.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank williamhW715KP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldfish027, Owner at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time and giving KRGH such a lovely review.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Guest House.
Kind regards
KRGH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Wonderful family room - so much space and attention to detail. The room lacked nothing we needed. Even with a king size bed, two sofas, a kitchen area, cupboards, and a mezzanine area with two beds for kids, we felt as though we had lots of space to move and relax. Although the family room does not have a view of the river, the pool, garden and that wonderful view are just around the corner. I loved that I could sit next to the pool and watch my family fish or canoe on the river.
The breakfasts were heavenly (the best poached eggs ever!), and the service from Ditte and Dale was friendly and attentive. Dale was an absolute star - setting up our novice fishermen with poles and bait and lots of advice and guidance; putting our boules and croquet to keep us occupied. Graham searched out a book with more info on the cuttlefish that was caught. Ditte provided lots of useful advice on restaurants and activities in the area. We loved every minute. Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldfish027, Owner at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Fiona, for the lovely detailed review you have given our Guest House.
It was a pleasure having you and the family stay with us.
Best wishes for your future adventure!!!!
Kind regards
KRGH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
8,5 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
2,5 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Alfred
429 reviews
1,4 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 5 in Port Alfred
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2,7 km away
A Villa de Mer
A Villa de Mer
#3 of 27 in Port Alfred
191 reviews
1,1 km away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#2 of 27 in Port Alfred
181 reviews
1,5 km away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#5 of 27 in Port Alfred
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowie River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowie River Guest House

Address: 10 Colegate Road, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range: R 1 416 - R 1 592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation situated on the banks of The Kowie River ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kowie River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing