We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kowie River Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Kowie River Chalets(Port Alfred)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panorama Guest House(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A Villa de Mer(Port Alfred)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dockside Guest House(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$56
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lookout Guest House(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$61
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Guest House(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Guest Cottages(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
US$67
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
194
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
194
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattention to detailguest housekowie rivergas braaifantastic breakfastsun downeradded advantageprivate terracegale force windsslice of heavenlovely situationnothing is too muchself cateringwelcoming place to stayhighest qualityexcellent accommodationlarge room
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Excel l ent room, bathroom and terras. Best breakfast we had during the trip of a month and overlooking the river and view on hills. Walking distance to centre. Hosts are very friendly and helpfull.
Relax at pool.
Have been there twice and will return.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ronald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldfish027, Owner at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Thanks Ronald A for the lovely review.
We always look forward to welcoming you back to KRGH , room 3!!!!!!
Kind regards
KRGH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Just about everything was perfect. Location is super with access direct to lagoon. House is very tastefully decorated. One does really feel at home. Host Ditte and husband Graham are charming and very welcoming as well as supportive towards their guests

Room Tip: All are perfect
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kees V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldfish027, Owner at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Thanks Kees for the lovely review.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the end of the year for an extended stay.
Kind regards
KRGH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

Our 2 night stay at Kowie River Guest House fronting onto the river was excellent in every respect. We were warmly welcomed and accommodated in a spotlessly clean and extremely well equipped suite facing the river. Our host, Dale, was outstandingly friendly and helpful and provided us with a top-class breakfast each morning. We highly recommend this guest house which will certainly be our first choice on any future visit to Port Alfred.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank williamhW715KP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldfish027, Owner at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time and giving KRGH such a lovely review.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Guest House.
Kind regards
KRGH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

Wonderful family room - so much space and attention to detail. The room lacked nothing we needed. Even with a king size bed, two sofas, a kitchen area, cupboards, and a mezzanine area with two beds for kids, we felt as though we had lots of space to move and relax. Although the family room does not have a view of the river, the pool, garden and that wonderful view are just around the corner. I loved that I could sit next to the pool and watch my family fish or canoe on the river.
The breakfasts were heavenly (the best poached eggs ever!), and the service from Ditte and Dale was friendly and attentive. Dale was an absolute star - setting up our novice fishermen with poles and bait and lots of advice and guidance; putting our boules and croquet to keep us occupied. Graham searched out a book with more info on the cuttlefish that was caught. Ditte provided lots of useful advice on restaurants and activities in the area. We loved every minute. Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldfish027, Owner at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Thank you Fiona, for the lovely detailed review you have given our Guest House.
It was a pleasure having you and the family stay with us.
Best wishes for your future adventure!!!!
Kind regards
KRGH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

What a fabulous experience!!! From meeting us at the gate upon arrival until saying goodbye (at the gate again), everything was perfect!! Breakfast is scrumptious and we had special treats on Christmas morning with Christmas themed placemats. It really does feel like visiting family at Kowie River Guest House.
The room is beautiful with a unobstructed view of the river, the bathroom really stunning, all finishes speak of excellent taste and the lay-out was carefully planned.
Each room has a little patio with a gas braai and all cutlery and crockery needed. We had our own braai on our patio with a view of the river and our hosts checked to make sure that we had everything we needed.
We will most definitely go back!!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 434sunettev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldfish027, Owner at Kowie River Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you for the lovely review.
We look forward to welcoming you back to KRGH.
Wishing you a prosperous 2018.
Kind regards
KRGH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews