We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tahoe Spur”

Tahoe Spur Steak Ranch
Ranked #13 of 36 Restaurants in Port Alfred
Price range: US$6 - US$9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery
Description: Spoil your family & eat out at Tahoe Spur. We are the best steakhouse & burger restaurant in Port Alfred. Bring along your kids for some great tasting food & dessert from our famous Spur menu.
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Of course one comes to expect standard fare in all Spurs – so accessibility, service and cleanliness is the only issue. Well Rosehill is pretty good on those two scores. Typical “holiday venue” relaxed approach to customers prevail and with such a big venue seating is almost always assured. Presentation and quality was as expected, but I was impressed to hear a customer who was clearly super fussy being politely handled with all her “special instructions” of add this and leave out that ! Clearly the move from the Marina has been successful and the Spur is now much more accessible.

Thank brianfQ3331OT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Tahoe Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Hello brianfQ3331OT,

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled to know your experience was a positive one.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, soon!

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

The staff made us feel hurried as they were closing at 6. We arrived at 5.10 and were pressed to order. The closed sign was put on the door at 5.40.

Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Tahoe Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Dear Kelly,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Tahoe Spur Restaurant. We are sorry to hear that the service was not up to standard. Your feedback is much appreciated.

If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on, together with your contact details to customer-care@spur.co.za. We'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and hopefully turn it around.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Good friendly service but this was not supported by quality of food. Two of us had fillet steaks but were not given a choice of plain or with the marinade which was not good and spoilt the steak. My burger was excellent as was my son's ribs. Chips were fine but the fried onions were very oily to the extent that the oil overwhelmed the taste of onion. As such a disappointing meal.
The seating (and we are not large) was cramped between the bench seats and the table.
Overall and adequate meal which should and could, so easily, have been better.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Tahoe Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We're so sorry to hear that this was your experience. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of food quality we pride ourselves on.

If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on, together with your contact details to customer-care@spur.co.za. We'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and hopefully turn it around.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Burgers were cold.... 10min into our order half of us had to change meals as they had run out of some of foods.
Also can’t believe that Spur management are happy for customers to stand and smoke right in the open doorway, we eventually got up to go ask the people to move.
Was a bit disappointing as we have had good meals here in the past.

Thank Frazz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Tahoe Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Frazz79,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Tahoe Spur Restaurant. We're so sorry to hear that this was your experience. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of service & food quality we pride ourselves on.

If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on, together with your contact details to customer-care@spur.co.za. We'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and hopefully turn it around.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

We had the worst meal and service ever! Waitress could not open a bottle of wine. Ribs that’s so dry, no meat and absolutely no taste or color or sauce. Lazy-aged sirloin with pouring blood- the manager did not have a clue why that was a problem for a lazy-aged steak. For what we got we overpaid at least 300%, but really I would not want to eat my meal for free.

Thank Estelle-Schutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Tahoe Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Estelle-Schutte,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Tahoe Spur Restaurant. We're so sorry to hear that this was your experience. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of service & food quality we pride ourselves on.

If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on, together with your contact details to customer-care@spur.co.za. We'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and hopefully turn it around.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tahoe Spur Steak Ranch also viewed

Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Tahoe Spur Steak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing