We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good friendly service but food so-so”

Tahoe Spur Steak Ranch
Ranked #12 of 36 Restaurants in Port Alfred
Price range: US$6 - US$9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery
Description: Spoil your family & eat out at Tahoe Spur. We are the best steakhouse & burger restaurant in Port Alfred. Bring along your kids for some great tasting food & dessert from our famous Spur menu.
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Good friendly service but this was not supported by quality of food. Two of us had fillet steaks but were not given a choice of plain or with the marinade which was not good and spoilt the steak. My burger was excellent as was my son's ribs. Chips were fine but the fried onions were very oily to the extent that the oil overwhelmed the taste of onion. As such a disappointing meal.
The seating (and we are not large) was cramped between the bench seats and the table.
Overall and adequate meal which should and could, so easily, have been better.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Tahoe Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We're so sorry to hear that this was your experience. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of food quality we pride ourselves on.

If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on, together with your contact details to customer-care@spur.co.za. We'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and hopefully turn it around.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Burgers were cold.... 10min into our order half of us had to change meals as they had run out of some of foods.
Also can’t believe that Spur management are happy for customers to stand and smoke right in the open doorway, we eventually got up to go ask the people to move.
Was a bit disappointing as we have had good meals here in the past.

Thank Frazz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Tahoe Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Frazz79,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Tahoe Spur Restaurant. We're so sorry to hear that this was your experience. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of service & food quality we pride ourselves on.

If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on, together with your contact details to customer-care@spur.co.za. We'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and hopefully turn it around.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

We had the worst meal and service ever! Waitress could not open a bottle of wine. Ribs that’s so dry, no meat and absolutely no taste or color or sauce. Lazy-aged sirloin with pouring blood- the manager did not have a clue why that was a problem for a lazy-aged steak. For what we got we overpaid at least 300%, but really I would not want to eat my meal for free.

Thank Estelle-Schutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Tahoe Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Dear Estelle-Schutte,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Tahoe Spur Restaurant. We're so sorry to hear that this was your experience. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of service & food quality we pride ourselves on.

If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on, together with your contact details to customer-care@spur.co.za. We'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and hopefully turn it around.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2017 via mobile

The food was not too bad. The staff is unfriendly without a smile.
My family felt quiet uneasy and just wanted to finish breakfast and get out of there.
Poor service from the staff

1  Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Tahoe Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Jack S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Tahoe Spur Restaurant. We're so sorry to hear that this was your experience. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of service we pride ourselves on.

If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on, together with your contact details to customer-care@spur.co.za. We'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and hopefully turn it around.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

The Spur chain has been the best steakhouse in South Africa for me since I visited Alan Ambor's first store in Rosebank Johannesburg. Today, it is a mess, and Tahoe Spur is as bad as they get....a burger patty is hard and dry, the bun is not a spur bun, the meat is covered in a gloopy red basting...the onions are white and floppy and covered in oil, the chips are floury and worst of all, the salad sauce is changed !!!! A steak also comes covered in red gloop, no sense of charring - the waiters hide away in the corner and you have to get up and go and fetch one ! We won't go again unless we read somewhere that they have had a rethink !!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jannharoldbader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spur_Steak_Ranches, Guest Relations Manager at Tahoe Spur Steak Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear jannharoldbader,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We're so sorry to hear that this was your experience. That certainly doesn't sound like the level of food quality we pride ourselves on.

If you wouldn't mind forwarding this review on, together with your contact details to customer-care@spur.co.za. We'd really like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and hopefully turn it around.

Kind regards,
Spur Steak Ranches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tahoe Spur Steak Ranch also viewed

Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
Port Alfred, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Tahoe Spur Steak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing