We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations in all areas. Cannot recommend more highly. Brilliant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Panorama Guest House
Ranked #9 of 27 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 January 2018

- Great location, easy to get to and a splendid view down over the trees to the Kowie River.
- Spacious rooms with kitchenette, en-suite bathrooms and inter connecting doors.
- Small plunge pool just outside our room which faced east.
- Breakfast included, were excellent, fresh fruit (different every day) and cooked breakfast and plenty of it.
- When I was going on a special flying trip in a de Havilland Tiger Moth, the owner took the trouble to take me out to the airport.
- The owner also took us up the Kowie River in his speed boat for bird and game viewing which was all too short.
- The owner and his wife were extremely attentive and yet we never felt crowded.
This is an outstanding small guest house and we enjoyed our 10 day stay enormously. We cannot speak highly enough of this establishment and the owners who gave us a truly memorable stay. If you are ever thinking of Port Alfred, this is the place to stay without a doubt.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortAlfredPanorama, Owner at Panorama Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thank you for the wonderful comments. It's always easy when the guests are great! Best regards, Marianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

We were welcomed by Marianne and Rob who took us to our very comfy room - with a beautiful view over the bushes to the sea. We were supplied with tea and coffee and a microwave so could get takeaways and heat them before enjoying on the patio. A delicious full English breakfast with fresh fruit salad and cereals too to enjoy in the diningroom - or, weather permitting, the patio.

Room Tip: This is a BnB with only three rooms - all have great view and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giesen1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortAlfredPanorama, Owner at Panorama Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thanks for the positive comment. We are happy if our guests are happy. Marianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Spent 7 nights at this delightful small family run B & B whilst visiting family in PA. Rob and Marianna see to your every need quietly and attentively. Spotlessly clean rooms with super comfortable beds, hot showers and big breakfasts to die for. It's all so family oriented. A home away from home...... only here you get very spoiled. Thank you, we will be back I'm sure.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank nikkibarronv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortAlfredPanorama, Owner at Panorama Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Hi Nikki Thank YOU! You were great guests so an absolute pleasure to look after. Warm regards, Marianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

The guesthouse consists of a few rooms of the home of the very warm and great couple Rob and Marianne.
They are full of enthusiasm, recommendations of all what the area (and beyond) has to offer, places to eat and really helped making the best of our stay.
Port Alfred is a surprisingly nice place which is undiscovered by the tourist masses. Beautiful endless long white beach, hiking trails, kayaking on river, surfing, etc..
The freshly prepared breakfast on the terrace with ocean view is the best we had during our 4 week SA trip!
Thanks Rob and Marianne for staying at your lovely place and creating a great vibe which made it a lovely stay!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ferry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortAlfredPanorama, Owner at Panorama Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Hi Ferry & Malissa You made it very easy for us! We are happy if our guests are content. warm regards, Marianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

My husband and I were on holiday doing the garden route to Mossel Bay and Port Alfred was I first stop. We read about Panorama Guest House on the internet (places to stay in Port Alfred) and we were very happy with our choice. Rob and Marianne were the sweetest and most welcoming couple. Rob had the most interesting stories about is previous guest house in Namibia and being able to fly, as well as his vast knowledge about Port Alfred town. The room we stayed in was exactly what we needed - very spacious, cosy and with an amazing view. Breakfast was delicious and very generous. This truly was value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leeza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortAlfredPanorama, Owner at Panorama Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Hi Leeza Thanks++ You and Peter were a pleasure to host! Warm regards, Marianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
1 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 5 in Port Alfred
361 reviews
0,6 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 5 in Port Alfred
343 reviews
0,9 km away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#2 of 27 in Port Alfred
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,6 km away
Dune House
Dune House
#8 of 27 in Port Alfred
22 reviews
1 km away
Royal Guest House
Royal Guest House
#7 of 27 in Port Alfred
114 reviews
0,8 km away
Dockside Guest House
Dockside Guest House
#6 of 27 in Port Alfred
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Guest House

Address: 15 Wesley Hill Street | Eastern Cape, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range: R 697 - R 767 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Panorama Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panorama, perched high on the West Bank of the Kowie River, lives up to its name.There are wonderful views over the pool across the garden, towards the Marina and the dunes of East Beach and the sea. The three en-suite guest rooms are individually decorated with sliding doors opening onto a large veranda. Marianne and Rob offer warm hospitality and speak English, Afrikaans, Dutch and German between them. We have auto change over power supply in the event of power failure, filtered purified rain water for drinking in all the rooms as well as our own supply of municipal water in the event of municipal shut down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Panorama Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing