We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Marda d
Cape Town Central, South Africa

Best kept secret

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Jan 2021
Our stay at Ship Ahoy was the closest to finding paradise at the end of a hair-raising year. Our spirits, minds and sanity were restored and it was the best possible start to the new year. Richmond House Cottages are a haven for anyone who needs a break away from the daily grind. It's almost too good secret to share!
Date of stay: December 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica Gordon, Agency / Consultant at Richmond House Cottages, responded to this review
Responded 23 Jan 2021
Thank you, Marda and Gerhard. You are perfect guests and are welcome, always!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 522
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 522
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 215
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 482
0.6 km from Richmond House Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 100
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 089
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 100
0.6 km from Richmond House Cottages
Free parking
Pool
Pool area
R 2 115
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 115
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 078
  • Tripadvisor
    R 2 078
0.9 km from Richmond House Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 100
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 100
0.4 km from Richmond House Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
River Facing suite
R 859
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 040
  • Agoda.com
    R 766
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 040
1.0 km from Richmond House Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 600
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 584
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 328
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Richmond House Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 900
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 883
  • Lol.travel
1.0 km from Richmond House Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 988
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    R 988
1.0 km from Richmond House Cottages
Free parking
Beachfront
R 1 800
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 800
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from Richmond House Cottages
Free parking
Beachfront
Villa Majestic building
R 950
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 950
  • Vio.com
2.7 km from Richmond House Cottages
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Port Alfred
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
27
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
27
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2020

If it is just two on a trip do stay in Sandymount cottage. It is wonderful appointed with everything to make your stay as near to home. The attention to detail is wonderful. You will have to travel far to find hosts as great as Sue and Neville. The gardens are so well kept and lovely to just sit in and relax. Will we be back? For sure and soon. Thank you for a great stay.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica Gordon, Agency / Consultant at Richmond House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2021

Belated thanks, Simon and Rozanne, for your gracious review. We look forward very much to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2020

We spent two weeks at Fig Tree Cottage in December 2019. The cottage is surrounded by indigenous garden and magnificent fig trees which provide shade on a hot day and shelter from the wind. The cottage is very comfortable and beautifully decorated. Hosts Neville and Sue were very attentive and provided a wealth of information on the history of the property and the area. A visit to Sue's museum on the property is a must. All in all a memorable stay!

Date of stay: December 2019
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SandyK1494
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica Gordon, Agency / Consultant at Richmond House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2020

Thank you so much for your comments. We're so glad you had such a special stay with us and enjoyed the history of the property too!
Warm regards,
Richmond House Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2020

Sandymount Cottage is a wonderful place to stay for a relaxing experience. Wonderfully authentic cottage in lovely surroundings with total privacy. The hosts are amazing, even down to getting lovely fresh produce from the veg garden. Wonderful stay.

Date of stay: December 2019
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank d0rrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jessica Gordon, Agency / Consultant at Richmond House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2020

Thank you so much for your comments. We're so glad you had such a special stay with us!
Warm regards,
Richmond Gouse Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2019

We have visited Richmond House many times since our first stay and every time we are made to feel very welcome and to enjoy the wonderful hospitality of Pen and the Gordan's. The special touches at Xmas this year made it feel especially warm and comfortable. The warm water and weather at the time we visited, Xmas, made Port Alfred a very special holiday destination.

Room tip: All the cottages are great
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidcapestandard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JessG5381, Owner at Richmond House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

So pleased you had a great holiday! We look forward to seeing you both again and thank you very much for your continued support. Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2018

When I had the opportunity, for my daughter and I, to stay again at Richmond House Cottages, I was delighted. I previously stayed in Ship Ahoy, and this time in Fig Tree cottage. The hospitality shown by Pen and the Gordons make you feel truly welcome, and they most certainly went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable, and all our needs were met, Having laundry done is extremely helpful ! Staying in Fig tree cottage is relaxing and peaceful , you have all you could possible want

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JessG5381, Owner at Richmond House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

Dear Michael

Thank you for such a positive review of your recent stay at Fig Tree Cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back, wish you an excellent start to 2019 - and of course thank you for your support.

Sue, Neville Gordon and Pen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews