We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
vanessa_mostert
South Africa

Fantastic stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 05 Jan 2019via mobile
Excellent place for working mom to rest and have me time. So much for kids to do like putt putt, swimming pool, table tennis,PS4, tennis, squash and pool,Also a gym for adults. No cooking and housekeeping for parents- buffet D&B. Clean, private, safe. Really worth the money - kids program
Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
View of The Lookout
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
35.6 km from Mpekweni Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 9 796
  • Hotels.com
27.0 km from Mpekweni Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 777
  • Booking.com
36.6 km from Mpekweni Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
River Facing suite
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 113
  • Hotels.com
36.4 km from Mpekweni Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 2
Go to your Happy Price
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
36.6 km from Mpekweni Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Off the grid Eagles Nest log cabin, view towards valley and river.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
36.5 km from Mpekweni Beach Resort
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 777
  • Hotels.com
37.0 km from Mpekweni Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool area
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 322
  • Booking.com
36.2 km from Mpekweni Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Harbour Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
35.9 km from Mpekweni Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Queen En Suite
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
37.6 km from Mpekweni Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Port Alfred
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
88
30
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
88
30
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews conference squash snooker facilities sauna
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2019

Overpriced.
Young Kids must eat away from their families. And at a set time? Clearly these people have no clue how our 5 year olds brains work! They are forced to eat between 6 and 7pm. Or else pay for additional supper. Then when adults get to have dinner from 7pm, our kids are entertained by a movie for the duration? Again, 5 year olds dont wont to be away from the parents so long! And out of sight! With strangers!
Our first day was raining. We had a family room with nice deck. But, when we asked for a shelter like umbrella, so we could at least relax on the deck, we were told not gonna happen. This decision was finalised the next day only. So we spent our first day stuck inside our room with 2 young kids . This was a simple fix but they clearly showed us they not accomodating any Reasonable requests.
What they actually want is, to go dump your kids at their mostly inappropriete kids activety areas, run up a large bill at the bar.
My idea of a family holiday is exactly that! A family! I refuse to let them dictate how i should spend my families time by their moneysucking methods.
This is my final holiday at Mpekweni. 25 years ago it was different. Now its a moneysucking racket!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Holidayreview2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2019

Dear holidayreview2019
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately your review is filled with so many inaccuracies that it is fruitless for me to comment.

Have a fantastic 2019.

Regards
Colin

























Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2018 via mobile

This is an amazing spot for a family holiday. The location, facilities, and kids activities are top class. Very friendly and efficient staff who go out of their way to assist. The dinner and breakfast spreads are incredible. You will need to hit the very well equipped gym to balance the food indulgence. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AndrewB8551
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2018

Dear AndrewB8551
Thank you for your compliments, I will be sure to pass on your comments to the staff concerned. We are pleased to note that you had a great holiday and we wish to thank you for your patronage. Have a blessed festive season and may 2019 be less challenging than 2018.

Kind Regards
Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

Arriving at mpekweni we were greated by friendly staff at the checking desk, check-in was effortless .

Our room was neat clean and had a partial ocean view. As to the dinning , dinner was a buffet and all the food was cooked to perfection. Breakfast was a also a buffet ,with a wealth of food choices .

As to recreational activities, we made use of the barge cruise up the river, was very relaxing. There are padel boats and canoes As Well as a beach volley ball court.

Our stay was wonderful and I would recommend it to any one . Thanks again to Lauren in reservations for making our stay such a lovely and relaxing one.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank edcotech
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Dear edcotech

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you had an excellent time and we will be sure to pass your compliments on to Lauren and all staff concerned.
Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

I was privileged to spent two nights at the Empekweni Beach Resort, 30 km away from Port Alfred in the Eastern Cape, and about an hours drive on the R72 from East Londen. What a sophisticated location so close to nature. Your heart will bleed to spend more time on the unspoiled tranquility of the Empekweni beach.

Conference facilities are superb for a rural based location. Quality meals are served with wide variety, and I am told the African cuisine and seafood buffet on a Saturday is legendary.

This former caravan resorted has been transformed to a fully fledged holiday destination.

I stayed in a comfortable and pristine cottage next to the sea side. Cell phone reception is poor within the ambits of then cottage but hell, there was 4G reception on the beach.

Since it was winter, the club house was closed, however, its roof deck with loungers offer unspoilt views for the soul.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank itguyjhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear itguyjhb

Thank you for your patronage and for taking the time to share your experience at Mpekweni on TripAdvisor.
We are pleased that you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

This hotel has a great location. However, for business meetings it doesn't provide internet and therefore a long stay is not recommended. I stayed for a week and was unable to do any work which required internet connections. In this day and age, this is a minimum especially when catering to business groups.

Date of stay: November 2017
3  Thank Frespirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Good day Frespirt

Thank you for your comments which is factually incorrect. We offer a capped download per person per day thereafter there is an option to pay for additional data. It is a pity that you did not approach one of my team to assist you in this regard.

Regards

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews