We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
74
29
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
29
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews putt putt live entertainment beach volleyball kids entertainment great family pool area relaxing weekend definitely worth a visit team building the river reception staff spent two nights beautiful setting wonderful place lagoon conference colin
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2018

Incredible setting on an untouched beach and at a river mouth. Loads of activities for adults and kids. The kids club they run over the busy December period is amazing...my toddler would beg to go there. The food was great with lovely live entertainment every evening. The staff all round were super helpful and friendly. Our room had everything we needed and was in good condition. We did day trips to Port Alfred and Bathurst, which weren't far away when we felt like getting out of the resort. We would love to go back one day!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 606sonjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

This is my second time at Mpekweni, its appeal is that it has a ocean, river, lagoon and great pools plus all facilities you can think of. Massive breakfast and lunch buffet and lovely lunch poolside menu makes you keep on smiling.

Few things that can be improved: Please add a line to dry swimming clothes in the bathroom. Also, even though I asked, they did not separate (place all pork dishes together, or have a small pork/bacon indicator). This would have also been ideal for the many Jewish clientelle and Muslims as well.The PRO programme this year seem to fizzle out in the last few days. Also, the Memo club was not consistently manned during operational hours

Otherwise, amazing place !!

Room tip: Choose top floor when choosing luxury family rooms
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AslamParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Good location overlooking a great beach and down to the sea. Enjoyable Buffet with a wide range of starters, main courses (including various roast meets and fish) and puddings. Not as many dishes, though, as we had experienced since we last visited some six years ago. Reasonable service standards by friendly staff. Reasonably priced. Pre-booking recommended but definitely worth a visit.

Room tip: Did not stay but went for lunch only.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Hubby and I have stayed at many, many different resorts and hotels and Mpekweni is definitely one of the very best. Colin and Nicolette are absolutely amazing hosts and seem to have the winning recipe. Staff are so friendly and polite and nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are cleaned, and serviced every day. The food is to die for...there is just too much to choose from! We stayed for 3 days and were sad to leave. Thank you to every single person who made our stay so wonderful. We will definitely be back!

Room tip: Avoid rooms around the pool if you enjoy naps in the afternoon. Rooms near the bottom with sea views are the best.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PhilippaF49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Philippa F
Thank you for your compliments and kind review on TripAdvisor. We are please that you had a great time and we will be sure to pass your compliments on to the staff concerned. Have a great 2018 and thank you once again for your patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

The most amazing resort! The efficient & friendly staff, the kids entertainment to the adult entertainment. Wow!!! We keep coming back for more! This is our third time here & will definitely be back soon. The owners are true amazing people! Thank you everyone for the amazing memories we created here.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LindyB166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Lindy B
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience at Mpekweni with fellow TripAdvisors. We are privileged that you chose Mpekweni as your family getaway destination and we wish you a fantastic 2018 and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews