We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mpekweni Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Royal Guest House(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dockside Guest House(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheilan House(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lookout Guest House(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$51
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mansfield Reserve(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halyards Hotel(Port Alfred)
US$62
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Beach House(Port Alfred)
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
73
28
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
28
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsputt puttlive entertainmentfor sunday lunchbuffet stylekids entertainmentgreat familypool areaconference venuerelaxing weekenddefinitely worth a visitteam buildingreception staffbeautiful settingan upgradethe rivercomfortable roomswonderful place
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Good location overlooking a great beach and down to the sea. Enjoyable Buffet with a wide range of starters, main courses (including various roast meets and fish) and puddings. Not as many dishes, though, as we had experienced since we last visited some six years ago. Reasonable service standards by friendly staff. Reasonably priced. Pre-booking recommended but definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Did not stay but went for lunch only.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Hubby and I have stayed at many, many different resorts and hotels and Mpekweni is definitely one of the very best. Colin and Nicolette are absolutely amazing hosts and seem to have the winning recipe. Staff are so friendly and polite and nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are cleaned, and serviced every day. The food is to die for...there is just too much to choose from! We stayed for 3 days and were sad to leave. Thank you to every single person who made our stay so wonderful. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms around the pool if you enjoy naps in the afternoon. Rooms near the bottom with sea views are the best.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Philippa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Philippa F
Thank you for your compliments and kind review on TripAdvisor. We are please that you had a great time and we will be sure to pass your compliments on to the staff concerned. Have a great 2018 and thank you once again for your patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

The most amazing resort! The efficient & friendly staff, the kids entertainment to the adult entertainment. Wow!!! We keep coming back for more! This is our third time here & will definitely be back soon. The owners are true amazing people! Thank you everyone for the amazing memories we created here.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Lindy B
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience at Mpekweni with fellow TripAdvisors. We are privileged that you chose Mpekweni as your family getaway destination and we wish you a fantastic 2018 and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights and had an awesome experience. Our room was on the beach front and offered excellent clean accommodation and wonderful sea and lagoon views. There was a large conference being held there but this did not impact on our stay in the slightest. The dinner buffet and breakfasts were absolutely delicious.The live entertainment at dinner time was the cherry on the top. Such talented singers. There are so many activities at the hotel to accommodate all ages. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and in particular we'd like to thank Andy for going the extra mile to make our stay so enjoyable. From Mike and Ingrid Teubes.

Room Tip: Beach front room
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 300jaclynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear Mr & Mrs Teubes
Thank you for taking the time to pen your experience at Mpekweni on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time and we will be sure to pass on your compliments to Andy. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

I have had the pleasure of accompanying my husband on a business trip. Whilst he is in a conference I have been able to really enjoy the peaceful environment. Our room faces the ocean and at night I am lulled to sleep by the ocean serenading me. What I am finding very pleasing is that this resort has not impacted at all on the beautiful environment. A dune hides the resort so when one walks on the beautiful flat sandy shoreline there is no intrusion at all.

One can tell that every care is taken from the extravagant luxury rooms to the budget accommodation. The staff are very efficient and friendly always eager to please.

The cuisine is absolutely delicious. Perhaps the offering for halaal could be more varied. The buffet breakfast and dinners are really sumptuous and an added treat is the live music which creates a very intimate ambiance. I love the seating areas interspersed in the dining area which allows one to relax and enjoy your desserts or just unwind.

This resort should be a great place to bring the family to. There is something for young and old. You can enjoy a game of putt putt , row a boat on the lagoon or play a game of pool. For the young ones there is even a play room.

My three nights have passed way too soon. Thank you Mpekweni Beach Resort for a memorable time!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Nasreen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews