We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Alfred
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mpekweni Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

I have had the pleasure of accompanying my husband on a business trip. Whilst he is in a conference I have been able to really enjoy the peaceful environment. Our room faces the ocean and at night I am lulled to sleep by the ocean serenading me. What I am finding very pleasing is that this resort has not impacted at all on the beautiful environment. A dune hides the resort so when one walks on the beautiful flat sandy shoreline there is no intrusion at all.

One can tell that every care is taken from the extravagant luxury rooms to the budget accommodation. The staff are very efficient and friendly always eager to please.

The cuisine is absolutely delicious. Perhaps the offering for halaal could be more varied. The buffet breakfast and dinners are really sumptuous and an added treat is the live music which creates a very intimate ambiance. I love the seating areas interspersed in the dining area which allows one to relax and enjoy your desserts or just unwind.

This resort should be a great place to bring the family to. There is something for young and old. You can enjoy a game of putt putt , row a boat on the lagoon or play a game of pool. For the young ones there is even a play room.

My three nights have passed way too soon. Thank you Mpekweni Beach Resort for a memorable time!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Nasreen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

What a wonderful place for a peaceful family getaway! The food was absolutely delicious! So much entertainment for the kids and the parents! Had such wonderful walks down the beach with the most amazing views! Mpekweni is definitely a must on any travelers list!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank RobynH04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Dear RobynH04
Thank you for taking the time in posting your experience at Mpekweni Beach Resort on TripAdvisor. We are equally pleased that you had a wonderful stay and we wish to thank you for your compliments.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

This is a fantastic resort with great service and fantastic food in a beautiful setting. There are many types of accommodation to choose from and activities like canoeing, fishing, river cruise or just lying by the pool. Highly recommended for a weekend getaway or an extended holiday.

Room Tip: Beachfront chalets are right on the lagoon and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Graham P
Thank you so much for taking the time in sharing your experience at Mpekweni Beach Resort on TripAdvisor. we're equally pleased that you had a great time with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Kind Regards
Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

The location and setting is magnificent; however, the rooms, food and service is nothing out of the ordinary. Excuse me if I do not subscribe to the Mpekweni fan club and not swayed by the hype! As a three-star graded establishment, it meets the standard rating - good! Live music and local talent - quite good!
Stunning pool and relaxation deck, with magnificent views! Ironing facilities though is another experience, really requires improvement!

Room Tip: Slept in an ordinary room, perhaps one should try the Executive Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gcinuxolo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Gcinuxolo Y
Thank you for your comments. The ironing room was set up upon request during your stay. We do not have ironing facilities in the room as guests tend to use the dressers as the ironing board, with disastrous results. We usually charge a small fee for pressing.
Regards

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Loved everything about this resort. Very accommodating. Friendly staff always ready to assist. The food was too good, with lots of options, both dinner and breakfast. Child friendly resort, a number of activities for the little ones. My kids loved every moment.

The only disappointing thing was when it comes to ironing of clothes, a bit of a headache. You need to go and queue in the ironing room.

Otherwise, in overall, I recommend this resort especially for family. Will definitely be going back

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 851nellat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Dear 851nellat
Thank you for sharing your review of our resort on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had a great experience overall. We will definitely have to review our ironing facilities in order to make pressing of clothes a little easier.
We look forward to welcoming you back again at one of establishments.
Kind Regards
Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
36,3 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
350 reviews
35,9 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
340 reviews
37 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26,8 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
10,5 km away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
36,5 km away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 18 in Port Alfred
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mpekweni Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mpekweni Beach Resort

Address: R72 Coastal Road, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Hotel Class:3 star — Mpekweni Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your budget and preferences, Mpekweni has a room type to suit your needs. Choose from our range of inter-leading shower rooms and family deck rooms with pool views, to lagoon-facing rooms and beachfront twin rooms. Mpekweni Beach Resort is the ideal getaway destination to reconnect with family. All bedrooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mpekweni Beach Hotel East London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing