We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sheilan House(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lookout Guest House(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Book now, pay at stay
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mansfield Reserve(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 31/07
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Royal Guest House(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$57
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MyPond Hotel(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$42
US$40
Hotels.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 29/07
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$52/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Panorama Guest House(Port Alfred)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A Villa de Mer(Port Alfred)
US$67
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$118
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$567
US$551
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach House(Port Alfred)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
73
29
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
29
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsputt puttlive entertainmentfor sunday lunchkids entertainmentgreat familypool areaconference venuerelaxing weekenddefinitely worth a visitteam buildingreception staffbeautiful settingspent two nightsan upgradethe rivercomfortable roomswonderful place
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We called here as it was lunchtime and it was unlikely to find much else for some time.
What a lovely surprise.
We sat by the pool, wandered around the grounds, then had bar snack lunches which were really tasty.
A wedding was going on at the time, and all the guests were so friendly and happy, pity we could not wait for the ceremony, it must have been a great occasion.
The staff here are really helpful, and although we did not stay overnight I can only imagine it to be the same good standard.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Wrinkleytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear Wrinkleytraveller
Thank you for your review of Mpekweni. We're equally glad you found us and we hope that you will return in the near future and experience our hospitality further.
Kind Regards

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

We have just held another good conference at Mpekweni. The delegates are happy and everyone enjoyed their stay. The conference venue is very good and the sound quality is excellent - there are very few venues where we receive no complaints about the quality of the sound in the conference venue.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank rozp283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Dear rozp283
Thank you for your review and patronage. We're equally pleased that your delegates were happy with the venue. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort and we will strive to achieve 5-stars.
Kind Regards
Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Book a sea facing beach room and you can't get closer to perfect open and clean Eastern Cape seaside. Walk to your hearts content on the beach. The food was surrisingly good and staff very pleasant. Good value for money. Weekends may be busy so a midweek break is recommended for great downtime.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Dear Stephen L
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had a great time. FYI weekends are generally quieter than midweek. We look forward to your return.
Best Regards
Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The Mpekweni Resort has well appointed rooms with quiet air conditioning. The buffet meals are well thought out and well cooked. The conference rooms are well attended to. The miniature golf, river cruises, volley ball, gym, fresh water pool and tennis courts allow delegates or guests to relax and unwind. The only down side is that it is about a 1 hour dive South from East London. However the road is excellent

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Dear Rod S
Thank you for sharing your views of Mpekweni with fellow Tripavisors. We are pleased that you enjoyed some of the facilities on offer and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the chef. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

My husband and I needed to have a well earned break, we went to Mpekweni resort for 8 days. The food was once again fantastic and the chefs and the staff make you feel so at home and welcome. we were offered an upgrade when we arrived but unfortunately I have a back and hip problem so the stairs would have been to much for me. It was a very relaxing stay, only we put on weight from the fantastic food. Even though there were conferences while we were there it was still a relaxing stay;

Room Tip: beach front rooms
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Dear Sandra D
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience at Mpekweni with fellow TripAdvisor travelers.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews