We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach getaway”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Alfred
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mpekweni Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We had a beach front room which offers one a beautiful view of the pristine beach and river. The service is excellent and staff friendly, professional and well presented. Although there was a big conference happening whilst we were there, this in no way affected our stay. The buffet for breakfast and dinner was outstanding with a fantastic choice of delicious fresh food on offer. Linki, with her healing hands, makes a visit to the spa for a facial or massage well worth it. The resort is spotless and the grounds neatly maintained. A cruise up the river along with plenty of other activities available make mpekweni beach resort a fantastic destination if you are looking to unwind, soak up the stunning scenery and simply be. Definitely a favorite in the eastern cape.

Room Tip: Beach front room is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 412donnae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Dear 412donnae
Thank you for taking time out to share your experience of our Resort on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had a great time. We we look forward to your next visit especially with our brand new Wellness centre opening soon.
Kind Regards
Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We called here as it was lunchtime and it was unlikely to find much else for some time.
What a lovely surprise.
We sat by the pool, wandered around the grounds, then had bar snack lunches which were really tasty.
A wedding was going on at the time, and all the guests were so friendly and happy, pity we could not wait for the ceremony, it must have been a great occasion.
The staff here are really helpful, and although we did not stay overnight I can only imagine it to be the same good standard.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Wrinkleytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2017

Dear Wrinkleytraveller
Thank you for your review of Mpekweni. We're equally glad you found us and we hope that you will return in the near future and experience our hospitality further.
Kind Regards

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

We have just held another good conference at Mpekweni. The delegates are happy and everyone enjoyed their stay. The conference venue is very good and the sound quality is excellent - there are very few venues where we receive no complaints about the quality of the sound in the conference venue.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank rozp283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Dear rozp283
Thank you for your review and patronage. We're equally pleased that your delegates were happy with the venue. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort and we will strive to achieve 5-stars.
Kind Regards
Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Book a sea facing beach room and you can't get closer to perfect open and clean Eastern Cape seaside. Walk to your hearts content on the beach. The food was surrisingly good and staff very pleasant. Good value for money. Weekends may be busy so a midweek break is recommended for great downtime.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Dear Stephen L
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you had a great time. FYI weekends are generally quieter than midweek. We look forward to your return.
Best Regards
Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The Mpekweni Resort has well appointed rooms with quiet air conditioning. The buffet meals are well thought out and well cooked. The conference rooms are well attended to. The miniature golf, river cruises, volley ball, gym, fresh water pool and tennis courts allow delegates or guests to relax and unwind. The only down side is that it is about a 1 hour dive South from East London. However the road is excellent

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Dear Rod S
Thank you for sharing your views of Mpekweni with fellow Tripavisors. We are pleased that you enjoyed some of the facilities on offer and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the chef. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
36,3 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
350 reviews
35,9 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
340 reviews
37 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26,8 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
10,5 km away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
36,5 km away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 18 in Port Alfred
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mpekweni Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mpekweni Beach Resort

Address: R72 Coastal Road, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Hotel Class:3 star — Mpekweni Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your budget and preferences, Mpekweni has a room type to suit your needs. Choose from our range of inter-leading shower rooms and family deck rooms with pool views, to lagoon-facing rooms and beachfront twin rooms. Mpekweni Beach Resort is the ideal getaway destination to reconnect with family. All bedrooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mpekweni Beach Hotel East London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing