We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem of a resort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Alfred
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mpekweni Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2016

What an incredible resort, stunning beach , river and hidden from the crowds.Brand new bed in the complex as well as modern, clean and tidy bedrooms. What an view , what a beach ! Greta place to spend a few days and less that 1 hour by car from East London.

Room Tip: rooms around the pool are on the beach front but might be noisy as they are also near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2016

Dear Stuart f
Thanks for your TripAdvisor review. We hope to see you again soon in the foreseeable future.
Kind Regards
Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2016

What a glorious few days in this gem of a resort! We were greeted by warm, welcoming staff who personally took us down to our beach facing room. The fresh white linen, a comfortable king sized bed and a door that opens onto the beach impressed from the start. Our first sunset was spent sipping ice cold wine while relaxing on the swing chairs facing the lagoon. Dinner was a fresh feast of peri-peri prawns among many other delicacies, an ample carvery and awesome selection of vegetables and salads. Head Chef Paul is a charming, knowledgeable host who went to great lengths to find out about us and what we liked to eat. He also discovered my husband' s passion for fishing and organised for bait to be available for him the next day - together with a guide to the best fishing spots.
Our afternoon cruise up the river was yet another opportunity to meet a charming member of the management team - Leerie. Although we were the only people opting to cruise that day, he was more than happy to oblige.
We have spent time in many resorts and hotels around the world and we were struck by the very obvious "team" approach at Mpekweni. All the staff speak of the owner and CEO in glowing terms. Mpekeweni is a fine example of how an understanding of the importance of good service and a quality product filters from the top down
For us, visting Mpekweni felt a bit like discovering a pearl in an oyster!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnchild2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2016

Dear lynnchild2015
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had a great time and I will be sure to forward your compliments on to all those who made your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mpekweni soon.
Kind Regards
Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

Where do I start?
Location has to be seen to be believed- stunning beach, immaculate garden/pool/lounger area.
Beautiful hotel/beach chalets
....and we only came for lunch!
Carvery it said - well it's not like any carvery I've ever had in the UK or Ireland- 3 courses of the widest range of fresh food you will ever see & the quality was superb.
A complimentary glass of wine was included.
There was even a musician on hand to keep us all entertained.
4 adults, 3 courses (you could return as often as you liked), 1 bottle of wine, 2 beers of the highest quality food - only R750 (€45)
If I could give it 10 stars I would

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank X11SWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2016

Dear X11SWT
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm unashamedly flattered and I will be sure to pass on the compliments to all my staff. Hope to meet you in the foreseeable future.
Kind Regards
Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2016

On the 1st evening of my arrival at this resort, I made a request to Chef Viwe to prepare me meals that accommodate my particular diet. He obliged with aplomb! on my last evening, he outdid himself when he prepared me the most well presented and scrumptious meal I've ever had at this resort. I take my hat off to this young man. The personal care he took to take care of a patron's needs deserves recognition. Much appreciated. Your future looks bright. God Bless! Sizwe M.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 446sizwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2016

Dear Sizwe M
It is encouraging to hear of Viwe's service, particularly so as he started out in the scullery. I will be sure to pass on your compliments on to him.
Kind Regards

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016

Everything about this picturesque resort runs like clockwork ... the service from Reception desk through the dinning hall spills over to your manicured gardens and pristine pool and continues all he way to maintenance... its just slick and everyone wears a genuine smile. The evening entertainment lifted my spirits as we sat in the dining room eating our delicious dinner the singer sang and the audience harmonised ... its a place where everyone is treated the same ... its a place where our rainbow nation radiates its beautiful colours . You set a wonderful example of how it all can work .. Thank you to you all .

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinwd, Owner at Mpekweni Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2016

Dear Debbie J

Thanks for sharing your experience with fellow TripAdvisors. We're equally pleased that you had a pleasant experience at the Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back in the foreseeable future.
Kind regards
Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
36,3 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
352 reviews
35,9 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
340 reviews
37 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26,8 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
10,5 km away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
36,5 km away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 18 in Port Alfred
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mpekweni Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mpekweni Beach Resort

Address: R72 Coastal Road, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Hotel Class:3 star — Mpekweni Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your budget and preferences, Mpekweni has a room type to suit your needs. Choose from our range of inter-leading shower rooms and family deck rooms with pool views, to lagoon-facing rooms and beachfront twin rooms. Mpekweni Beach Resort is the ideal getaway destination to reconnect with family. All bedrooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mpekweni Beach Hotel East London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing