We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
59
25
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
25
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house overlooking the marina beautiful bathroom went out of her way over christmas comfortable beds a lovely stay lovely view great value for money pat des hosts guesthouse views port lounge sundowners
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2018

A lovely guest house, a home from home.

All the rooms have a lovely view over the Port Alfred habour. The rooms are big and there's outdoor areas that your can use.

Port Alfred have nice weather and a lot to do. There are a few nice little towns around that you can visit and Port Elizabeth or East London are only one and a half hours drive from there.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocksidePortAlfred, Owner at Dockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you Christine. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
We would love to have you to stay again.
Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

We had a lovely stay at Dockside Guest House. We spent 6 nights there over Christmas. Pat went out of her way to make our stay a great one. She suggested places to visit and things to do. We were 9 people and we had a really great time. Lovely views .

Room Tip: The guest house has 5 rooms , we occupied all of them. Very comfortable accommodation. Quite a walk to get to the beach, but that was good exercise.
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocksidePortAlfred, Owner at Dockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

It was lovely having you all to stay and are so glad you enjoyed your holiday.

We really enjoy it when people discover this lovely part of our country.

Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Stayed 4 nights from 1 to 5 October 2017 at Dockside. Got a friendly welcome from Pat. Room was comfortable and very spacious with a lovely balcony overlooking the marine. Des makes a mean breakfast and was definitely something to look forward to each morning!!! During our stay Pat gave us valuable information where to eat and what to to in and around Port Alfred. She went out of her way to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

Room Tip: Ask for room with direct access to balcony
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank coenraads2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocksidePortAlfred, Manager at Dockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you so much. It was a pleasure having the both of you to stay and introduce you to our beautiful part of the country.
Regards Pat and Des

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

It has a picture perfect view across the harbour of Port Alfred and has spacious rooms. The people are very helpful. The breakfast is exceptionally good and I would say that this is your nr.1 destination to stay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank KevinS9369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocksidePortAlfred, Owner at Dockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you for staying with us. Sp glad you enjoyed your stay and hop to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

I have stayed in the Dockside Guest House twice now and the rooms and the service are of a very high standard. Although the Guest House is situated close to the main thoroughfare through Port Alfred it is more than made up with the views that you have.
Breakfast is excellent with a good selection and you will have the best scrambled eggs there that you have ever had.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well apportioned and have good views but undoubtedly the main bedroom upstairs is a truly excellent room.
Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jugs58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocksidePortAlfred, Owner at Dockside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for your kind words. We always enjoy having you all to stay and this year it was a celebration for you with all your wins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews