We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveller rating
222
166
34
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
166
34
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river value for money excellent service hotel is situated ocean basket enjoyable stay conference room eggs benedict overnight stay lovely hotel keep up the good work parking area beautiful view business trip top class family and friends attention to detail
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 437 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2018

Everything was so superb, staff is very kind,food so nice and the hotel is so clean and very tidy.Even next year I'll bring my mother there for a weekend.My friends too were so impressed with service.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FarAway63323465068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018

I had a one of the best stays of my life at the My pond hotel. Experienced the best service and a most enjoyable meal in the evening from the restaurant. The premises are clean and the staff is friendly and HIGHLY professional.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank svatya569115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Dear svatya569115

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, it was a pleasure to read. We truly appreciate this type of feedback and are always overwhelmingly happy whenever our guests are happy with their stay at MyPond Hotel. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards
Sisonke Mapuma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

The rooms are clean, comfortable and modern. It is equipped with a Tv, fridge and coffee station. Bathroom is a bit dated. Food was great too. Friendly helpful staff. Wifi throughout hotel. The setting of the hotel is amazing. You can enjoy sundowners outside on comfortable couches on the banks of the Kowie River. It is also centrally located so you have all the shops and restaurants at your doorstep. We enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DominoBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Dear DominoBlack

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, we appreciate all your kind words and positive sentiments. We are glad you had a wonderful time and MyPond Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Sisonke Mapuma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

My family and I stayed for an evening and had a wonderful stay as always! Unfortunately my wife left her silver bracelet in the room on departure! When we realized we immediately phoned the hotel reception. We were courteously assisted and told that the cleaning manager would call us back... did not happen. Phoned back the next morning with the same promise! Did not happen! Third call requested the manager call me! Let’s hope the hotel manager would be decent enough to return my call! Love this hotel but seriously disappointed with the service!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank paulcoetzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Dear paulcoetzee

Thank you for writing a review on this platform. We appreciate the feedback. We are glad you had once again chosen to stay at MyPond Hotel and do hope you will return. It is really unfortunate that you were unhappy with how the bracelet issue was handled however the front office team including the manager contacted you regarding the bracelet and I can assure you it was not left in the room. We have never had a situation where an item left by a guest had not be retrieved. I do hope your wife has found her bracelet.

Kind regards
Sisonke Mapuma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

We found this establishment on line when taking a last minute decision to visit Port Alfred while on holiday in Port Elizabeth.The location close to the main road & on the west bank of the Kowie River is ideal. It is central with an amazing feel being on the river bank. You can sit out on comfortable chairs & enjoy the ambience while having a refreshment. We had a lovely walk along the river which is pretty & seemed quite safe. You can dine in the restaurant or out on the river bank as well.The room that we had was more than adequate for two having two three-quarter single beds, doubles are available, liberal cupboard space, more space in the room & bathroom than most that we have been in recently. It has TV, a fridge, air conditioning, Wi-Fi, a desk & a modern feel with all the amenities that one would expect. The whole establishment is clean, modern & well run.We found out that it is part of Stenden South Africa a private higher education institution that offers a 3 year B Com degree in hospitality management at their campus about one or so kilometers away. The staff are by & large students who work at the hotel as part of their course. It was good to see the enthusiasm & friendliness of youth coming through in all our dealings. Truly an advertisement for the training that they are receiving.The establishment provided good value for money. The food was excellent (breakfast & dinner). Without a doubt MyPond served our requirements for a three day visit to the area.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rbaker991875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Dear rbaker991875

Thank you so much for the comprehensive review, it was a great pleasure to read and appreciated by both the team and the students. We are happy to know you were happy with your stay and we trust you will visit MyPond Hotel again in the near future. We look forward to having you back at the Hotel.

Kind regards
Sisonke Mapuma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews