We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bigger pool please will do...”
Review of MyPond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MyPond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

our room had as unpleasant smell, I think it was the mat, that's the only thing that I didn't like. But the overall was okay. A bigger pool will be great, a spar to because port Alfred is a very small town if you could offer more services it will make it a greater place to visit.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank samkelisiwem2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear samkelisiwem2018

Thank you for the review, we will definitely take your recommendations into account. We hope you will visit again soon.

Kind regards
Sisonke Mapuma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The position of this hotel is unbeatable and the views of the Cowie River are just great!

The service was Impeccable over my stay and I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

My room was nice and clean with everything you would expect to find. The only negative was that the blinds to my window were very hard to close which was a problem as the window was bordering the parking lot.

The breakfast was great, but I found the restaurant rather expensive for dinner (a bow of butternut soup was R70).

Overall, I would gladly return to this establishment and would recommend it if you are looking for something in the area.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank DaneSalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear DaneSalmon

Thank you very much for the positive review. We appreciate the kind words. We hope you will visit again in the near future.

Kind regards
Sisonke Mapuma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

Excellent service and beautiful river view ,food divine .tranquil ,definitely go again . Loved watching the boats on the river stunning little eat houses close by room air conditioned and comfortable will come again

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 828leonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 828leonk

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We appreciate the compliments and look forward to your next visit at MyPond Hotel.

Kind regards
Sisonke Mapuma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

Lovely hotel with great extras and close to town. Great food and super service. Recommend it for families and business people alike. Thank you for making us feel extra special on our arrival. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sunelk2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear sunelk2018

Thank you very much for the positive feedback. We are glad your stay at MyPond Hotel was wonderful. We trust you will visit again in the near future.

Kind regards
Sisonke Mapuma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

We checked out an hour after checking in facilities and rooms dirty. This hotel was sadly not upto Mantis standard that we are used to. No refund given and no feedback on the matter we went to discuss matter with manager. We stayed at the at Andrews hotel and it was lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank I9543CImarcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear I9543CImarcd

We are disappointed that you did not find MyPond adequate for you stay. We are glad you were able to find alternative accommodation.

Kind regards
Sisonke Mapuma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
1,4 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 5 in Port Alfred
429 reviews
0,9 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 5 in Port Alfred
343 reviews
9,5 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,9 km away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#2 of 27 in Port Alfred
181 reviews
0,4 km away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 18 in Port Alfred
123 reviews
1,2 km away
Royal Guest House
Royal Guest House
#7 of 27 in Port Alfred
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MyPond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MyPond Hotel

Address: 33 Van Der Riet Street, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range: R 527 - R 983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MyPond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MyPond Hotel is a beautiful 4 star boutique hotel situated at the Kowie river bank in Port Alfred. MyPond is operated by one of the most prestigious Hotel Management Schools on the African continent: Stenden South Africa. As a guest you may therefore expect excellent service standards and warm and dedicated hospitality in a beautiful setting. The emphasis of the accommodation is on comfortable, affordable luxury, with stunning, spacious river-view suites, family rooms (approx 50 m²) and classic rooms (approx 25 m²). The rooms are all en-suite, air-conditioned, with LCD televisions (10 satellite channels), telephones, universal plug points, safe, fridge and tea/coffee facilities. The Suites are equipped with I-Pod docking station radios, heated towel rails and sleeper couches. There is wheelchair access to all our rooms (via lift in the outer wing) and a full wheelchair friendly toilet in our lobby. Our award winning in-house restaurant Lily offers a contemporary menu selection with a wide variety of South African cuisine. As a guest you can look forward to a relaxed and welcoming dining atmosphere on the banks of the Kowie River. Choose from our extensive wine selection of top South African wines to compliment your meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your MyPond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing