We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, right on the river and walking distance to main attractions”
Review of MyPond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MyPond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We were 16 senior bikers, touring the Eastern Cape. From the moment of first contact when making the booking with the very charming GM- Sisonke, the experience was fantastic. The rooms are very modern, neat and clean. The spacious bathrooms and corner baths are delightful. Breakfast is one of the best we have had in ages, eggs Benedict with smoked salmon was a hit with our group. Freshly baked croissants with a variety of cheeses, gammon and preserves was also a hit with the group. Service from the staff (Students, as this is a training hotel) was keen and accommodating. Whether it is a business or a leisure trip, I would highly recommend My Pond Hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms face onto the lagoon/river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadcaptain-ulysses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Dear roadcaptain-ulysses

I'm delighted that your stay at MyPond Hotel was memorable and enjoyable. It was an honour and a pleasure to host you and your friends. I hope your next trip to the Eastern Cape will be soon.

Warm regards
Sisonke Mapuma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 183 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2016

A wonderful experience and the outlook is special. The team from Stenden do a great job in running the hotel and restaurant. No need to eat anywhere else- the menu is great. I was very impressed. Thank you- we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LeeDix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Dear LeeDix

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review and thank you for all the compliments. We are glad you were impressed with MyPond Hotel and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards
Sisonke Mapuma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

My husband and I found the room really baby friendly their was nothing that our baby could hurt herself on, it was comfortable, cozy. The staff were excellent, very friendly & kind. The service was good.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jarrydandnakirar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Dear jarrydandnakirar

Thank you so much for the positive feedback and the kind words. We are glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay at MyPond Hotel. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Warm regards
Sisonke Mapuma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

The staff were very friendly. The mothers day basket and flowers were great. Unfortunately we had to wait for a long time for a bottle of chenin blanc as the bar fridge was locked. Cheese platter was great, oxtail was ok and rump steak average. Facing the parking area and street is noisy. Aircon regulate the temp in room nicely, Breakfast was great. Perfect medium poached eggs! Mothers day special ( Do not know what normal rates are) was good value for money. Very neat and modern.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 527allanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Dear 527allanm

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed the mother's day special and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards
Sisonke Mapuma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2016

I never thought Port Alfred had such an awesome places, My Pond was exceptional it exceeded my expectations, the standard and quality of service spells professional professional professional. Food was great, actually food was nothing like hotel food, every bite was divine, the hotel is clean, staff is all friendly and never crack under pressure. We had a good experience, and value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zanelez2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Dear Zanelez2016

Thank you so much for the compliments and the great feedback, I will pass them on to the rest of the team. I'm glad you had a wonderful experience with us. We hope that you will visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
1,4 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
419 reviews
0,9 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
340 reviews
9,5 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25,8 km away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
0,4 km away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 18 in Port Alfred
119 reviews
1,2 km away
Royal Guest House
Royal Guest House
#8 of 27 in Port Alfred
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MyPond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MyPond Hotel

Address: 33 Van Der Riet Street, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range: R475 - R876 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MyPond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MyPond Hotel is a beautiful 4 star boutique hotel situated at the Kowie river bank in Port Alfred. MyPond is operated by one of the most prestigious Hotel Management Schools on the African continent: Stenden South Africa. As a guest you may therefore expect excellent service standards and warm and dedicated hospitality in a beautiful setting. The emphasis of the accommodation is on comfortable, affordable luxury, with stunning, spacious river-view suites, family rooms (approx 50 m²) and classic rooms (approx 25 m²). The rooms are all en-suite, air-conditioned, with LCD televisions (10 satellite channels), telephones, universal plug points, safe, fridge and tea/coffee facilities. The Suites are equipped with I-Pod docking station radios, heated towel rails and sleeper couches. There is wheelchair access to all our rooms (via lift in the outer wing) and a full wheelchair friendly toilet in our lobby. Our award winning in-house restaurant Lily offers a contemporary menu selection with a wide variety of South African cuisine. As a guest you can look forward to a relaxed and welcoming dining atmosphere on the banks of the Kowie River. Choose from our extensive wine selection of top South African wines to compliment your meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your MyPond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing