We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MyPond Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mansfield Reserve(Port Alfred)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheilan House(Port Alfred)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach House(Port Alfred)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Guest House(Port Alfred)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
193
149
27
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
149
27
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverexcellent servicehotel is situatedocean basketenjoyable stayconference roomeggs benedictovernight staylovely hotelkeep up the good workparking areabeautiful viewtop classattention to detailbusiness tripfamily and friendsgreat value for money
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2015

Brownie points for the professional and friendly student based staff at My Pond Hotel. Pleasant, service focused and on the ball. Impressive. Well done - I will not stay anywhere else if I am ever in Port Alfred.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vanessav328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2015

Dear Vanessa,

Thank you for taking the time to write such complimentary review.
Your wonderful comments will be shared with our students. MyPond Hotel aims to deliver unique guest experiences. We are pleased that our services continue to meet and exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Thulani Xhali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Will definitely come back if possible!! Fantastic facilities, great service, awesome staff who never say no and are always willing to help and find a sollution for your every need. My Pond makes the job I came to do feel good for me and my delegates.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank onkgopotsem2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2015

Dear Onkgopotse,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at MyPond Hotel.
We strive to deliver excellent service, we are pleased that our service and facilities were to your liking. We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind regards,
Thulani Xhali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Room average, but clean. Nice view of the river and the old shops on the other bank. The bathroom, although spacious and modern, had very bad lighting, and the extremely short water spout of the tub made it near impossible to wash and rinse hair. Service was quite good, friendly and attentive. All in all not a bad stay, but maybe we should have chosen a room with a shower instead

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Danafrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2015

Dear Dana,

Thank you for your kind comments on our location, service and staff.
We apologies for the frustration you experienced with the room facilities during your stay.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Thulani Xhali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

MyPond Hotel is situated on the banks of the Kowi river. The river-view rooms have a beautiful view and tranquil atmosphere. Conference facilities excellent but disappointed with the food. Not much of a choice, and not flavourful too. The dinner service was also not great, although it's a training facility for 'hotel school' students. Rooms great but missed a big, soft towel and other bathroom amenities normally found on 4 star establishments. Although being 4 star, I would rather rate it as a 3 star.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank Whydoyouneedascreenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2015

Thank you for sharing your kind comments about our location and conferencing facilities.
It is with sadness that we acknowledge your comments on the food, this by no means is the standard of experience we strive for.

Kind regards,
Thulani Xhali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015

Easy to find, overlooking the Kowie River.
Reception - excellent service, good explanation of facilities.
Suite - spacious, clean, lovely view.
Waitrons - excellent to start with (Tatiana) brisk service and follow-up. Not quite so good with the shift changes: Sunday night - we were brought lukewarm cappuccino and chocolate drinks after our meal; Monday morning, had to ask for milk for our tea and butter for our toast.
Meals - food generally good quality and adequate serving size; though sometimes a bit slow in arriving. Some variability - my wife's phyllo basket on Sunday evening was somewhat smaller than mine on Friday evening - she also lost out on the crepe suzettes - two instead of my three (both sets were not hot on arrival at the table). The mussel pot was good and the line fish (sea bream) tasty. Good vegetable soup as well.
Overall, though, a nice place to unwind and not be in a hurry. Sitting outside watching the river and boat passers-by really relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2015

Dear Steve,

Thank you for sharing your experience of MyPond Hotel. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us. Your kind compliments about our staff and students are appreciated and will be shared with them. We apologies for the inconsistencies you experienced during your stay and grateful that they did not dampen.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind regards,
Thulani Xhali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews