We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why make leisure Holiday Stop over at My Pond?”
Review of MyPond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MyPond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2015

Was looking for tourism focal attraction points near My Point!
Listing of nearby activity/sight seeing locations. e.g. nature hiking trails, Mountain bicycle trails, beach walks, Kowie riverside walk to beach possible? Is beach protected and safe for swimming? Families, older Folks...
Kowie river boating trip available ? Apparently 25 km navigable with smaller boats
Sport fishing on Kowie river
There are a number of historical buildings with businesses operation across the river from the Hotel with considerable appeal, which the town my develop and enhance further as an visitors attraction.
What has happen to the buildings of the former Port Alfred Port? Is there any merit to develop a mini Port Alfred Water Front??
Offer Shuttle service to beach or other activity locations

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2015

Dear HG,

Thank you for your valuable suggestions. We are constantly looking for ways to enhance our guest experience. I will definitely bring your points up at the next Sunshine Coast Tourism meeting.
Keep well and happy travels.

Kind regards,
Thulani Xhali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 292 of 352 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 9 March 2015

We recently had our Annual Sales Conference at your venue and you out-did our expectations! My whole team of 76 staff loved it! Venue & accommodation brilliant! You really went out of your way to accommodate and assist us in every way! Well done to your whole team. We hope to be back in the future! Keep up that personal touch & great service!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2015

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing My Pond Hotel for such an important function. I’m pleased to know that our facilities and services exceeded your expectations. I will be sure to pass on your kind compliments to my staff.
I look forward to your continued support. Keep well.

Kind regards,
Thulani Xhali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015

Very pleasant experience and stay at MyPond. The service was very good. The rooms were clean, tidy and comfortable. The food was delicious. The setting is nice and relaxing overlooking the river......

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2015

Dear Michelle,

Thank you for sharing your My Pond Hotel experience. I’m glad you found our facilities, staff and service to your satisfaction.
Keep well and we look forward to welcoming you gain.

Kind regards,
Thulani Xhali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015

Excellent reception, fantastic service with beautiful rooms and magnificent views. The staff were highly professional and super friendly and went all out to ensure that we had a great time. The dining area is beautiful overlooking the river. All in all the best sales conference ever!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2015

Dear Theresa,

Thank you for choosing my pond hotel for your conference. We do aim to provide excellent conferencing experiences. I’m glad you got the time to experience our dining facilities and that they were to your liking.
We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Thulani Xhali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015

Will recommend it to friends and family and business partners.
Great Service, good location near town , staff is friendly and helpfull. peacefull and luxurious . room was neat and comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mypond, General Manager at MyPond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2015

Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you for choosing My Pond Hotel and for making the time to write such a kind review.
I’m pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your support and we look forward to hosting you and your loved ones in the near future.

Kind regards,
Thulani Xhali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
1,4 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
419 reviews
0,9 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
340 reviews
9,5 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25,8 km away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
0,4 km away
Mansfield Reserve
Mansfield Reserve
#1 of 18 in Port Alfred
119 reviews
1,2 km away
Royal Guest House
Royal Guest House
#8 of 27 in Port Alfred
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MyPond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MyPond Hotel

Address: 33 Van Der Riet Street, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Port Alfred
Price Range: R475 - R876 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MyPond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MyPond Hotel is a beautiful 4 star boutique hotel situated at the Kowie river bank in Port Alfred. MyPond is operated by one of the most prestigious Hotel Management Schools on the African continent: Stenden South Africa. As a guest you may therefore expect excellent service standards and warm and dedicated hospitality in a beautiful setting. The emphasis of the accommodation is on comfortable, affordable luxury, with stunning, spacious river-view suites, family rooms (approx 50 m²) and classic rooms (approx 25 m²). The rooms are all en-suite, air-conditioned, with LCD televisions (10 satellite channels), telephones, universal plug points, safe, fridge and tea/coffee facilities. The Suites are equipped with I-Pod docking station radios, heated towel rails and sleeper couches. There is wheelchair access to all our rooms (via lift in the outer wing) and a full wheelchair friendly toilet in our lobby. Our award winning in-house restaurant Lily offers a contemporary menu selection with a wide variety of South African cuisine. As a guest you can look forward to a relaxed and welcoming dining atmosphere on the banks of the Kowie River. Choose from our extensive wine selection of top South African wines to compliment your meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your MyPond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing