We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
148
35
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
35
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house freshly baked muffins beautiful bed peaceful stay one night stay stunning beach breakfast was delicious nice pool excellent stay braai area fantastic service out of this world magda memory sea port robinson
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2018

The best place to stay in Port Alfred. On a lovely beach. Very clean and Stylish. Friendly homely staff. Port Alfred is a lovely place to visit. Delisious food on the restaurant on the beach. A must see place on your route in the Eastern Cape

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hesterbester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Had a wonderful experience at A Villa de Mer, the team went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and memorable.

Its was our 1st time visiting Port Alfred and surely not our last, simply because of the amazing experience at A Villa de Mer.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wandile_gumede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Thanks Wandile. it was good to meet you. until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We stayed several nights at A Villa De Mer, a beautiful bed & breakfast located on beach in Port Alfred, South Africa. The manager, Memory Robinson was most gracious host for our stay. And, The lovely ladies on her staff made out visit most memorable. Our elegant room was fully equipped to meet our needs. Besides being a beautiful bed and breakfast located on the most stunning beach in the world, the staff is Five Star.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank AnnaLiisaNobleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

It was our pleasure to host such a lovely couple. We sincerely hope that all is well at your home in Tampa Bay and, that there are no more hurricanes heading towards the United States. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

I have stayed in hundreds of great hotels, B&B's around the world and some shabby ones too. My stay at A Villa de Mer was truly a lovely experience. With minimum fuss, the friendly proprietor showed our group on business around the place with concise and simple instructions. She then stayed out of our way - good thing when on business. The establishment for me was pleasing, it is as good as it looks on the website. The quality of all amenities, furnishings and cleanliness was top line. Although we could only stay a single night, I found the establishment very pleasing, quiet with the soothing sound of the nearby surf making for a restful stay. The breakfast was delicious and freshly prepared. I shall return when I'm in the area again

Room Tip: Room 1 has a lovely sea view with large picture windows
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlpix2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Coming from such a well traveled guest, we graciously accept your compliment.We may even pat ourselves on the back being compared to guest houses/hotels around the world!
A huge thanks for taking the time to voice your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Excellent accommodation, hospitality, food and position. A short walk to, and views of superb beach. Very friendly and helpful, knowledgeable staff. Very clean, best b&bs we,ve stayed at will be hard to beat.con

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cherylbE4939KE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Huge thanks for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor, Cheryl.
Your kind words are very encouraging. Hope to see you sometime in the future.
memory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews