We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
149
35
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
35
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lock up garage beautiful bed stunning beach breakfast was delicious nice pool braai area fantastic service out of this world magda memory sea port robinson baking der duvet luxury
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2017

We stayed several nights at A Villa De Mer, a beautiful bed & breakfast located on beach in Port Alfred, South Africa. The manager, Memory Robinson was most gracious host for our stay. And, The lovely ladies on her staff made out visit most memorable. Our elegant room was fully equipped to meet our needs. Besides being a beautiful bed and breakfast located on the most stunning beach in the world, the staff is Five Star.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank AnnaLiisaNobleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

It was our pleasure to host such a lovely couple. We sincerely hope that all is well at your home in Tampa Bay and, that there are no more hurricanes heading towards the United States. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

I have stayed in hundreds of great hotels, B&B's around the world and some shabby ones too. My stay at A Villa de Mer was truly a lovely experience. With minimum fuss, the friendly proprietor showed our group on business around the place with concise and simple instructions. She then stayed out of our way - good thing when on business. The establishment for me was pleasing, it is as good as it looks on the website. The quality of all amenities, furnishings and cleanliness was top line. Although we could only stay a single night, I found the establishment very pleasing, quiet with the soothing sound of the nearby surf making for a restful stay. The breakfast was delicious and freshly prepared. I shall return when I'm in the area again

Room Tip: Room 1 has a lovely sea view with large picture windows
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlpix2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Coming from such a well traveled guest, we graciously accept your compliment.We may even pat ourselves on the back being compared to guest houses/hotels around the world!
A huge thanks for taking the time to voice your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Excellent accommodation, hospitality, food and position. A short walk to, and views of superb beach. Very friendly and helpful, knowledgeable staff. Very clean, best b&bs we,ve stayed at will be hard to beat.con

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cherylbE4939KE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Huge thanks for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor, Cheryl.
Your kind words are very encouraging. Hope to see you sometime in the future.
memory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Villal der Mer is the perfect place to stay, it is close to the beach. The rooms are beautifully furnished with lovely linen. The breakfast offered daily was delicious and catered for all needs. Staff were very pleasant and friendly and the rooms were extremely clean. The rooms had everything to offer from a hairdryer to a small fridge and kettle. Thank you Villa de Mer

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jsmith_649581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Our sincere thanks for your kind remarks. should you need any assistance with your son at 43 Air school, please do not hesitate to contact us. looking forward to seeing the Smith family sometime in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

we arrived without a booking as we had just walked out of the etablishment where we had booked. we stopped outside Villa Der Mer. Magda was fantastic from the time we arrived until we left. she made us feel welcome. nothing was too much trouble, she offered us a lock up garage at no extra charge to park the motorbike and trailer. the room was spotless. huge bed, stunning linnen, down duvet, everything we needed was availalbe. lovely prepared breakfast in the moring. I would highly recommend Villa Der mer. we are looking forward to our next stay. want to stay there in summer to enjoy the pool area... Magda and her team are a huge asset to the establishment.

Room Tip: room 1 and 2 I would sy
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simply123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

It is with pride that we took note of your survey on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff made you feel at home.
See you on your next trip our way!
Memory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews