We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa de Mer”
Review of A Villa de Mer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A Villa de Mer
Ranked #3 of 27 Port Alfred B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Villal der Mer is the perfect place to stay, it is close to the beach. The rooms are beautifully furnished with lovely linen. The breakfast offered daily was delicious and catered for all needs. Staff were very pleasant and friendly and the rooms were extremely clean. The rooms had everything to offer from a hairdryer to a small fridge and kettle. Thank you Villa de Mer

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jsmith_649581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Our sincere thanks for your kind remarks. should you need any assistance with your son at 43 Air school, please do not hesitate to contact us. looking forward to seeing the Smith family sometime in the future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017

we arrived without a booking as we had just walked out of the etablishment where we had booked. we stopped outside Villa Der Mer. Magda was fantastic from the time we arrived until we left. she made us feel welcome. nothing was too much trouble, she offered us a lock up garage at no extra charge to park the motorbike and trailer. the room was spotless. huge bed, stunning linnen, down duvet, everything we needed was availalbe. lovely prepared breakfast in the moring. I would highly recommend Villa Der mer. we are looking forward to our next stay. want to stay there in summer to enjoy the pool area... Magda and her team are a huge asset to the establishment.

Room Tip: room 1 and 2 I would sy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simply123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

It is with pride that we took note of your survey on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff made you feel at home.
See you on your next trip our way!
Memory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We had a great experience pity we stayed during winter but yet we had good times. A heater or zircon may just do on the rooms. Magda deserves more blessings with the services provided. I am happy and I

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gifts323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, General Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

thanks for your comment. Yes, Magda is a great asset to the business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

A Villa de Mer is a great and nice house placed close to the sea, our room was really fantastic and perfectly equipped. The breakfast was really good and, the most important, the owner was very friendly, we had a tyre problem and she helped us in our necessities.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mvila_701788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

We are very pleased that we were able to assist you. Not easy to arrive in a country and find that your rented vehicle have two flat tyres. one enroute to us and the second one overnight. we trust that you are now having a good time in South Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017 via mobile

Best guest house we have been to so far, we were pleased with everything. Our room was beautiful, spacious and clean and their breakfast was scrumptious. We enjoyed our anniversary. Keep up the good work .

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ziyanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alfred hotels
0.8 km away
Royal St Andrews Hotel
Royal St Andrews Hotel
#1 of 6 in Port Alfred
375 reviews
1.3 km away
Halyards Hotel
Halyards Hotel
#5 of 6 in Port Alfred
315 reviews
1.9 km away
MyPond Hotel
MyPond Hotel
#3 of 6 in Port Alfred
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Oceana Beach and Wildlife Reserve
26.0 km away
Fish River Sun Hotel & Country Club Resort
1.6 km away
The Lookout Guest House
The Lookout Guest House
#1 of 27 in Port Alfred
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Villa de Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Villa de Mer

Address: 22 West Beach Drive, Port Alfred 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Alfred
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Port Alfred
Price Range: R817 - R1 549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — A Villa de Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Villa de Mer Guest House is situated on the beachfront in Port Alfred, South Africa and is in a class of its own. Established in 1996, this modern Mediterranean style Guest House has been awarded four stars by the Tourism Grading Council and, rated according to the high parameters set by the AA of South Africa, as Superior grading.A Villa de Mer is a stylish, spacious and upmarket Guest House and a haven to relax. Located opposite the beach, with panoramic views of the Indian ocean, this guest house comprises of six en-suite bedrooms, with 19 channels DSTV and, offers luxurious accommodation at affordable prices. The wide corridors, large upper lounge that leads onto a balcony with stunning sea views and pristine white beaches, library and reading room downstairs overlooking the sheltered swimming pool, A Villa de Mer creates an atmosphere of tranquility and peace. The spacious TV lounge offers a 19 channel DSTV Bouquet and DVD Player. FREE WI-FI. You can relax and enjoy sundowners on the balcony whilst taking in the beautiful views over the Indian ocean. Fall asleep to the smell and sound of waves breaking on the beach. Cross the quiet road and walk the endless white beaches.We offer comfortable home-from-home accommodation. Enjoy the spacious and unpretentious setting of A Villa de Mer. Whether on business or holiday, A Villa de Mer offers its own brand of local hospitality and is a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday living. It is the ideal place to simply relax or to use as a base from which to explore the many sights of Port Alfred. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your A Villa de Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing