We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
150
37
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
37
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house lovely linen lock up garage beautiful bed short walk within walking distance breakfast was delicious stunning beach nice pool visiting port excellent accommodation braai area fantastic service out of this world magda memory sea
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We were only at A Villa de Mer for one night, but what we experienced was very pleasant. The rooms are clean and well appointed. I should imagine that it would be lovely for a holiday as it is directly opposite the beach. Very nice.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bevcollins21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Owner at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Many thanks for your kind words, Bev. hope to see you again in the not too distant future,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

This is an excellent B&B. Memory could not have been more helpful with accommodating our family of ten including young school-age children. They loved the pool! Everything was great and the sandy beach only metres away.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

What a pleasure it was to accommodate your lovely family. it was good to see how much fun the children had at the pool. a far cry from being stuck indoors behind a play station.
trust we will be seeing you again in the not so distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Me and my wife stayed at A Villa de Mer for two nigths. Room was clean and nice. We missed an aircon in our room and the celing fans did not work. Breakfast was nice and the freshly baked muffins was amazing.

Room tip: Room 5 was near the office so try to avoid
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquesvanAswegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Thank you for your kind words. Regarding the ceiling fans, they are all new and in working condition. we find that often our guests switch the fan switch off on the wall and then use the portable control. It is such a pity that you did not ask a staff member to assist you. we
strive to keep our guests comfortable. Hopefully, when next you are in the area, we can upgrade you to compensate for your discomfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

We spent one week here visiting our son who is student in Port Alfred.
The place was the best we could find! Very kind people working there and we had a lot of space in our room. The breakfast was excellent. Everything was awesome!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kaschu2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to place your review. Your kind remarks are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

From booking the place to when we arrived Memory was so nice. She welcomed us. The room was beautiful and what we saw in the pictures it was worth it. The breakfast was great u wake up and look forward to it. The sound of the ocean was calming. We shall be returning in May.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank honeylali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memoryPortAlfred, Manager at A Villa de Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Thanks for the time in completing the survey, Honey. your input is much appreciated. Looking forward to your next visit. this time you are family and we will rolling out the red carpet!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews